Dear Secret - I've catfished for years

in #secret-writer7 years ago

photo-priscilla-du-preez-n-986.jpg

Dearest readers,

Welcome to Dear Secret . Please read our Intro to learn how we're here to help the Steem community by providing a platform for discussion without judgement, a safe place to confess our secrets anonymously.

As such, unsupportive comments will be flagged, this is a safe place for all.
Thank you to our latest confessor.. we hope this helps you.
Much love,
Ghost Writer.



A secret that I've had for years, that literally no one knows about me... is that I pose as other people online.

I'm not at all proud of it, I'm disgusted by it to be honest... I've stepped away so many times, but keep getting pulled back in.

I meet people and make up a whole persona for them to get to know... I make up backgrounds, tell stories of things I haven't done, find random pics on the internet and say they're me and my friends. At my worst I probably had 10 "characters" going for 10 different people.

photo-priscilla-du-preez-n-968.jpg

It's a lot of effort, and I feel guilty the entire time... but it also makes me feel good. People like me and they're interested in me, and things at home weren't great so I liked being someone else for a while... I've even tricked girls into falling in love with me which honestly makes me feel sick to my stomach.

I've had trouble with it... I've nearly convinced myself that I am these personas, that's when I knew I had to stop.

I did stop... for a bit.

Sort:  

Congratulations @dearsecret! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - Intermediate results

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @dearsecret! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56690.25
ETH 2380.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33