Johann Schneider, Präludium und Fuge, g mollsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #sec5 years ago (edited)

This is my entry for the Secrets of Organ Playing contest, week 23.

Another personal challenge: play a prelude and fugue in one go. Admittedly, it is a short one (a little over 5 minutes) and my performance is certainly not error free. Nevertheless, I'm quite proud on the result. I approached it as if it were a live concert. In a concert you don't stop and start over. So, I did not in this performance either. In the prelude I play in bar 23 very wrong notes, yet managed to keep the flow of the music, and hopefully make it sound like they are the intended notes. The mistakes in the fugue are more prominent, regrettably. Yet I'm learning and start to get more confident in my playing and I enjoy that very much!

The recording was done with the Hauptwerk software and the sampleset, made by Voxus, of the Matthijs van Deventer-orgel in the Grote Kerk, Nijkerk (https://www.voxusorgans.com/en/product/nijkerk).

For more background on Johann Schneider and a complete edition of his (regretably very few) remaining organ works, visit my website: http://partitura.org/index.php/johann-schneider-organ-works-mus-ms-30377/

Sort:  

I also record my improvisations in one take. For compositions I usually do 3 takes and choose the best. Congratulations on being able to do it in one week and play it live!

Treating it as a live concert in some way removes the stress of recording multiple times for a good take. Well done.

Posted using Partiko iOS

It's learning to cope with the stress that makes it a valuable learning experiment for me.

Posted using Partiko Android

You’re right. Sometimes I think a live performance is less stressful. You can’t change the past and what’s done is done. But recording on video makes you always aware of what will be captured for viewing multiple times!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Resteemed, your post will appear in the next curation with a SBD share for you!


Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community on Steemit as it appears to be of interest to our community. We also support jazz and folk music posts!

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.


The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio or follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto!

Delegation links: 10SP, 25SP, 50SP, 75SP, 100SP, 150SP, 200SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP

Thank you partitura! You've just received an upvote of 35% by artturtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97