Tiny morning visitor

in #scorpion7 years ago

This morning I wanted to water the orchids but found a little visitor in the watering bucket. It must have fallen in overnight, it is actually tiny, about 2cm across in that position, but I wanted to play around with the macro functions on my phone.
macro uroplectes.jpg
This species is Uroplectes Triangulifer and they aren't venomous, if you are stung by one of these, the effect would be similar to a bee sting. The scorpion is afraid, that's why it is curled into a s small a shape as it can be.
After the photo session, I put it back outside and it ran under the plant pots. Hopefully it will be safe there and not go into the tenant's house because if they see it, they will kill it. I live on a rocky hill and it is quite common to find scorpions in the warmer months. They come towards the house because they hunt insects at night and insects such as moths are attracted to the house lights

Sort:  

Any scorpion looks scary hehe. Not sure many people would be waiting around to identify its species as being non venomous before taking off lol. BTW i though being stung by a bee is not pleasant as well. Nice post, thanks for sharing.

I've always loved the creepy-crawlies. The sting is not pleasant but many people are convinced that a scorpion sting will kill them. We do have some dangerously venomous scorpions in the world but the majority are not

Agreed. I was stung on the foot by a baby bark scorpion last year. The sting hurt really badly, but within a day I was fine. The bark scorpion is considered one of the most venomous scorpions. It is known to kill pets and in rare cases, people with weak immune systems such as the elderly and small children. They are common house pests in the deserts of Arizona.

I thought at first glance this scorpion was way bigger than 2cm haha.
Thanks for the information, all creatures are fascinating.

Agreed. My phone takes pretty good macros, this is closer to what you can see without magnification scorpion.jpg

How good it is to recognize if they are poisonous or not. Particularly I confess that about six months ago I found one in the shower of my bathroom, as what I have heard is that they are very dangerous. It scared me and I told my husband to kill him. The incredible thing is that I live on a third floor and I can not understand where he went. Maybe it was not poisonous, but because we did not know, we killed it.

I don't know the scorpions in your part of the world but the venomosity rule of thumb is small pincers, large tail = venomous and large pincers, small tail = non-venomous although of course this particular scorpion doesn't fit the rule. We also have scorpions that come into the house here and it is scary if you don't know but it pays to learn. I belong to an African scorpion forum because they are plentiful where I live and I like to know more about them

awe, what a beauty,

Looks dangerous hope you weren't stung

Wow! That's an awesome shot, especially for a phone! It's cool that you didn't kill it. Too many people kill every creepy crawly that the see.

Care all the scorpions including people with the zodiac ;)

Haha. Most of my family are scorpios

Thank God they are not too dangerous. But you have to take care some time its so painful.

Beware all of them

Wow it's beautiful. I can't remember the last time I saw it. Thanks for sharing the picture

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58613.96
ETH 3153.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43