The King and The Rebel - Part 1

in #scifi6 years ago (edited)

No matter how beautiful and well crafted a coffin might look, it will not make anyone wish for death. — African proverb 

Tau, leader of the Jelani rebels, sat in a holding cell made of pure energy. Outside of the cell, he noticed a conduit transporting electrical energy into the transparent material that the cell was composed of. It flowed down through a tubular duct that stretched to the ceiling. Having studied the Sijilmari people for decades, he recognized this as their tech. The physical properties of the valtinium metal they used could be altered based on how much electrical energy flowed through it. 

"Ah, you're awake.” A voice echoed throughout Tau's head, but he couldn't see anyone around the cell which sat in a larger, dark room. 

He had been placed on a small bed as he laid unconscious. “How long have I been out?” 

“Three days.” 

He sat up. "Where am I? Let me out sinji!" Tau's muscles flared and he began to sweat. He made his anger clear by his usage of an anti-Sijilmari perjorative. 

"That's not going to get you out of there. That's for sure." 

The cerebral voice made him wince. "Why am I hearing you in my head and not through my ears?" 

"We placed a valtinium-based communicator deep in your ear after we captured you. It does,” he paused, “many things. Most important of all is that you can't pull it out. So don't try...unless you want to lose your ability to hear in one ear.” 

"Well you don't know how annoying this is." Tau stood to his feet and looked down at his hands and legs - finally realizing he was not restrained. 

"Let's cut to the point. One week ago you were planning an attack on a convoy carrying military weapons from a region ravaged by war. You want to tell me what you were planning on doing with all of that weaponry?" The voice asked with a calm demeanor. 

"You expect me to tell you my plans just because you kidnapped me and have me locked in a high-tech jail cell? You haven't even identified yourself." Tau tried to laugh, but his voice cracked from dehydration and too much sleep. 

A three-dimensional virtual image began materializing in front of Tau on the outside of the cell. At first he couldn't make out who it was, then – 

– "I should've known. Ameer Kofoni - I am not surprised the King of Sijilmari wouldn't have the nerve to come here in person." 

"You were brought here so that two leaders can work out their differences and end the fighting between our people." Ameer’s image projected from the floor itself. The constant flickering implied that the former Prince was a safe distance away from where Tau was being held.  

Tau approached the energetic barrier and slammed his fist on the material which was hot to the touch. "Don't you dare talk to me about leadership. Your father started this struggle and you continue it. You're no better than the rest of the elitist sinji. You talk of peace, but you carry out the same imperial agenda that your War Council promotes.  Where's your leadership?" 

Tau waited for a response. 

The image of Ameer looked down at the floor, then back up. Tau looked into his deep brown eyes which were full of uncertainty. The rebel leader had never been this close to the King and former Prince before. He saw no lines of aging on the King's soft face. Instead, Tau saw a man born into privilege. Tau studied Ameer's micro-expressions and caught a glimpse of silent respect. Being older than the former Prince, Tau's age gave him a level of experience he could tell the new King didn't have. 

"I am prepared to buck the agenda of the War Council. They won't like it, but plans are already in the works to supplant their authority." 

"Just like that?" Tau looked perplexed with his arms outstretched. "There is a catch. Work with me and Sijilmari Intelligence to identify and neutralize more hostile elements among your rebel groups." 

"You want me to be a spy...for you?!" Tau turned his back to the King and started laughing out loud. "That'll never happen. Yes, there are some unsavory factions within the Timil movement, but given what's been done to us by your dead father and his Generals - did you guys seriously expect anything different?" 

The King's AR image shifted through the containment barrier and entered the jail cell with Tau. 

"Trust me when I say this, the opportunity to end this war only comes once. Both sides have committed atrocities in the name of freedom. Both sides are wrong, though both think they're right. Before I became King, as Prince, I followed your trail. I watched your speeches. I know you're not one of the worst." 

"I'm humbled." Tau rolled his eyes. 

"That's why we grabbed you and not someone else. You know, Sijilmari Intelligence operatives have a wide range of interrogation techniques." 

“I've heard the stories. I've met plenty of men and their loved ones who have been tortured by your father's operatives. So your point is taken.” Tau stopped and thought about Ameer's offer. "What are you angling for? You said an end to the war which has been going on for two generations, but what do you really want? You have everything to gain by continuing the fight against my people. You have your own legacy to think about, you come into power after a popular ruler. I've seen the polling data, most of the Sijilmari people either support the war or are neutral. You have land and an immense supply of resources to acquire in the East where my people live. So I ask again, what are you really getting at, because I don't take you as the anti-war type.” 

Ameer smiled and nodded his head in agreement. "Everything you said is right. I have more to gain by continuing the fight than trying to end it. Certain things I must keep to myself, but know that ending the war is a sincere goal of mine and has always been." 

Tau nodded. "This diplomacy thing isn't so bad." He paced around the cell. "We want the release of all political prisoners. We want repayment for damages and we want the generals who ordered atrocities under your father's regime to be brought to justice." 

Ameer resisted the urge to say something sarcastic. "Is that it?" 

"That's a start." Tau looked at Ameer's virtual image dead in the eyes. 

The King hesitated. "I'll see what I can do." 

Tau folded his arms. "Well then, I guess I'll see what I can do too. Are you going to let me out now?" 

In a flash, the walls of the jail cell disappeared and a magnetic door slid open on the far adjacent wall. The vibrant rays from the sun shined bright outside. 

Tau walked through the King's image and made his way to the door. 

The King turned and stopped him before he exited. "You never told me what you were planning to use those weapons for." 

Tau stopped and turned before exiting, "We were planning to use them against you...at your coronation ceremony." 

The King showed no emotion and didn't budge at the admission. 

"But now that we are on a somewhat diplomatic accord – you won't need to worry about that now. Just keep up your end of the bargain, and I'll keep mine." Tau turned and walked into the bustling megacity of Seti.

Picture Source...

https://pixabay.com/en/lake-forggensee-aerial-view-summer-3092231/

https://pixabay.com/en/fantasy-city-balloon-rock-forward-2801105/

https://pixabay.com/en/planet-discover-fantasy-world-1702788/

I wanted to start something new with the editors at  @thewritersblock since my others stories have already started and are well into their respective stories. They helped me out with this and I owe them a ton. Here's another afrofuturist story.

Tell me what you think below and maybe I'll keep pumping out more!

Sort:  

I think you get a lot of worldbuilding done in a very short space here. There's a definite texture to this setting that I'd like to see more of.

Thanks for sharing!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Brian from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59583.90
ETH 2578.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48