Christmas: Science Picture Challenge #1 - Why Stepping On Lego Hurts So Much?

in #sciencepic7 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians,

Today I would like to participate in the competition held by @mcw with a Christmas theme incorporated with science. I’m not really a science person but this competition actually got me thinking for awhile.

First up let me share with you all my photo. This photo was taken at Legoland at Nagoya in Japan.

IMG_0394.JPG

We have heaps of lego at home and Baby E told me he wanted to build the exact Christmas Tree when we get home. I thought it was a great idea as I love lego too (Remember I made the large Disney Castle a few months back?). Lego is a quality toy and their plastic blocks are flawless. Then it got me thinking for this contest, and also the number 1 question most parents would ask is why does stepping on Lego feels like the worst thing on this planet. Like literally! How can these little plastic blocks make parents so miserable?

There is a new saying I’ve just come across when you want someone to suffer:

funny-I-hope-you-step-on-Lego.jpg

source

After some quick research here are some of the conclusions science gurus have found:

why they don’t break - Lego are extremely hard and sharp. You can put 950 pounds or another stack of 375,000 lego blocks together on top before it would crack. Which leads to the next question:

why does it feel like the worst pain ever when you step on one? it is because the sole of our feet is highly sensitive with many nerve endings therefore our soles feel it the most. So if you step on the corner or edges of the lego, the force and gravity of your weight going onto these bricks plus the small concentrated area of your foot will feel the most pain.

source

So there you go.

To all the parents with kids and a room full of lego, is this something you agree on?

cd3.jpg


Thanks for reading. If you like my post, please follow, comment and upvote me. There will be more exciting posts & destinations to come.

謝謝你們收看。 請你們繼續跟隨,留言和投我一票 👍. 我會分享更多遊記和其他有趣的 blog.

All photos are taken by me & co in all my blogs/stories unless quoted. 每張相片都是我們自己拍的 📷


Below are some of my previous posts:

My Plan For 2018

Traveling the World #79 (Asia Series) Matsuri Hiroba @ Hida, Japan

Traveling the World #78 (Asia Series) Hida @ Japan

Our Christmas Dinner Party

Getting Ready For Our Xmas Party

Magnificent View Of Mt Fuji While Driving in Japan

What's In My Bag Challenge @Travelgirl 👜

Food Sharing #23 - Mach2 @ Sydney, Australia

Sort:  

謝謝你參加啊 😆
踩lego 這個真是一個很好的題材,不過有關科學解說那部分不能直接引用
你看看能否做個小總結,然後edit 一下~
不用太長的,比賽只需要100-250字 😃

哈哈我剛剛改好放了一個小終結。 看看怎樣可以嗎?

Beautiful photo,kudos

Thanks for sharing this great informations

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64197.36
ETH 3181.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49