The Dark Side of the Blockchain - Chapter Three - Bob

in #sciencefiction8 years ago

Link to Chapter One
Link to Chapter Two


“Daddy are they going to repurpose me?…

Daddy I'm still alive.” I sadistically whispered in John's ear as he slept, but John gave me a fright when he grunted and rolled over. I quickly jumped up and accidentally kicked a sleeping man on the way back to my sleeping area. While pretending to be asleep I heard the injured man say “Bitch why you kick me?” and then I heard a deep thud and the screams of a terrified woman.

Then others began screaming too and with my eyes shut I began seeing the flashing light of a cattle prod. As I lied there I could hear John robbing people and I remember thinking “Just fourteen more months of this and I'm done. Oh shit! He's coming over here!” “Bob get up!” John demanded while shocking all the happiness out of my foot.

Then Bob yanked my shirt so hard that I dropped my ear piece and he demanded “Help me sell this stuff so we can get high!” I became furious and screamed “Let me get my stuff.” While I searched for the ear piece in vain John began lighting random people up with his old cattle prod like an asshole, so I quickly left the sewer without it.


As you can probably tell I despised John

and I felt that it was my duty to torment him every chance I could get. Most people reefer to him as Shock'n Johnny and this asshole had shocked my testicles so many times that I could no longer naturally produce testosterone. Which infuriated me and I had killed many people for a lot less. No matter how hard I petitioned my superiors, I could not get authorization to kill John, because they thought it might jeopardize my cover.


I was an infamous Loki Assassin hiding among the vagrants,

only showing my face when someone's subchain was supposed to come to an end and I was just over a year away from retirement. But it wasn't always like this, about six months into the job I was tasked with extracting information from a disgruntle woman named Rachel that had access to Level 3 codes.

Rachel was very beautiful and we quickly fell in love, but that didn't stop me from doing my job. I think I was the first person that she had ever heard to criticize the blockchain and she was ready to help bring down the system. Unfortunately for her, once she started talking, she couldn't stop and she said some things in front of her son Harrison, which got them both repurposed.


I felt terrible,

but I was still tasked with obtaining the codes so I posed as a drug dealer and began selling to her husband John to retain access to her subchain and codes. Within a few months the Loki Order decided that my skills would be better served performing assassinations and around the same time John's life fell apart. What I didn't expect was how John would naively kill my targets for me with almost no information.

I would say something like “The streets are telling me that that guy over there has some silver, but you are gonna have to kill him from behind to avoid his subchain.” And this idiot would run over and kill the man without any clue that almost no honest subchainer walks around with silver. Of course it was always me that found the silver on his victims and he assumed that I was some sort of guru of the streets.


If I was Frankenstein, then Shock'n Johnny would have been my monster,

that was probably looking for more people to rob and kill as he followed me to the recycler. The recycler was a Loki Reserve named Dan who was living the high life on a modified subchain after ten years of field work. As we walked up I noticed that the sign that I was suppose to flip had been rotated ninety degrees to alert all Loki Agents that we were in an emergency situation.

I quickly walked up to Dan and said the code “Can I have some food?” while tapping my ear. Dan screamed “I don't want any trouble” and ran inside to get an ear piece. When Dan came back out he began screaming at me while passing it over.

I nonchalantly put the ear piece in my right ear and I heard a man repeating “...can hear me, turn toward the toward the tower and touch your chin. Bob if you can hear me, turn toward...” I quickly turned around and touched my chin.


“Get to the tower now!”

the man insisted. I immediately started running with John following behind and I heard Dan scream “It's better you than me fellas!” As we raced down the street a modcar came up from behind so we hid in alley. John began panicking so I had to calm him down as more modcars zipped past. I had no idea of what was happening so I told John to put his deadtag on while I put mine on too.

Then John attempted to impress me with some old mods that he probably found in the sewer and it dawned on me that he was afraid that I was going to rip him off again. Which is fair, because a lot of times I would get called away and end up leaving him high and dry and other times he would act like such an asshole that I would spring a surprise detox on him.



Follow me for more Tales from The Dark Side of the Blockchain


Links


Introduction
The Death of a Salesman
The Death of a Hitchhiker – Series

Sort:  

This is awesome! I love the idea of tossing in the same story told from another character's perspective. I also love how freaking insidious this guy is.

Thank You
I am glad you liked it, because I wasn't sure how this would go over.
I was almost expecting the plagiarism bot to call me out.

I think it only searches outside of steemit to see if you copy and pasted anything, or through steemit to see if you copy/pasted something from another author. Since your previous work has your signature, it doesn't trip on it.

I was sorta joking, but this is actually very useful information, Thank You!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48