Sort:  

Maybe! I've gotten some feedback from a few of the freewriters that they liked the universe I created, so maybe that's a sign that I should stick with it and keep exploring the possibilities. Like, off the top of my head, I could write about how the religious fanatics take the spread of the Plague as an affirmation that the Gods are punishing humanity for expanding beyond what they would have permitted with space exploration (like they say that the Tower of Babel story was predicting humanity's future sin), or explore people downloading into artificial bodies to avoid dying of the Plague as it evolves into something deadly (inspired by a conversation that @alexbeyman and I had a couple days ago). Or maybe I could combine the two with the character I already created, as he tries to find a way to cheat death by finding a new body while the clock is ticking down to his demise, as the fanatics, who have taken over the government, try to outlaw it because they say the Plague is the Gods' wrath and everyone has to accept it.

Sorry that you just totally became the recipient of that word vomit. Keeping it here for future reference hahah.

Steemit was dominated early on by fringe groups. It can be irritating at times but it also makes for a refreshingly alternative, outsider flavor. Look into the anti-CPS crowd sometime if you really want to disappear down a rabbit hole.

This is... insane. How did I not know these people existed?! What are they doing to their children that is causing CPS to be concerned? I saw someone mention today that they “unschooled” their kids. Are they one of them? Is this an anti-vax thing?? I have so many questions.

Usually meth, heroin or opoids if you dig through their side of the story long enough. They will hint at it or mention it in passing before launching right back into "but that doesn't justify the government abducting my kids". There's definitely a lot of overlap between those camps, yes.

This is really making me want to write about cognitive dissonance. I’m convinced that the desperate avoidance of cognitive dissonance is the root of all willful stupidity. (I must not be a terrible parent; ergo, the societal standards by which I am judged a terrible parent must be wrong.)

Haha I love the word vomit! My favorite part about writing an ongoing series in the freewrites is that the story can take you anywhere. I have a rough idea of how I want it to go...basic story...knowing that he wants to download into another body...but as you go and characters come to life, they start telling the story for you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58635.35
ETH 3152.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44