You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Will we be using moss to remove lead from the drinking water in the future?

in #science7 years ago

Being a chemical engineer, I loved this article about lead contamination.
During my Masters I my self did a project to collect the sample of local ground water to find the extent of arsenic contamination.
Sadly 80% of ground water in our city was arsenic contaminated.

Ahhhh fruits of industrialization!

Heavy metals are carcinogenic and should must be monitored closely in our food chain.
And here have a look at moss growing in my garden, its amazing and beautiful.
image.png
Here is the link of my post on moss.
https://steemit.com/colorchallenge/@xabi/color-challenge-thursday-green-this-is-the-moss

Sort:  

I'm glad to hear that you liked it, @xabi.

That sound like a very interesting project for your Masters, but it's sad to hear that so much water was contaminated! Was it naturally occurring, or from industry in the area?

No it is not naturally occurring and that's what makes me more angry.

I get why you are angry then! This is a good example of Tragedy of the Commoms where a rich company will destroy the community resource (in this case the drinking water), while the community will have to find a solution since the company does not care.

ineed it's a sad news. It was not naturally occuring. it was occured due to ill-planning, unawareness of environmental aspect, lack of care and corruption:(.

Ouch, that sucks..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58397.49
ETH 2619.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42