In Defense of the Scientific and the Spiritual - Part 1 : What is Science, Really?

in #science8 years ago (edited)

The Universe does not exist in a binary, there are not only shades of grey between black and white, but an uncountable infinity of various wavelengths extending from the planck length to as long as the observable universe.

This is especially amazing considering that the entirety of our visual perception is limited to an extremely narrow band of around 300nm.

Everything you have ever seen can fit in a space of less than 1/3rd of a mm.

Nevertheless we must have limits in all things, lest we get too bogged down with the infinite weight of uncountable infinities.

Thus when I speak of science, I mean a narrow subset of natural philosophy called Logical Positivism and for our purposes we are going to limit ourselves specifically to it's most rigid subset Falsificationism

This helps us ensure that our Science explores the "how" of things and posits that the universe is best explained by things which are quantifiable, measurable, but also "falsifiable". Meaning that some experiment can be proposed which would allow for the hypothesis to be refuted.

This is the most powerful tool we have for inquiry into objective reality. It means that if something cannot be "quantified", it is not scientific, even if a respected scientist is telling it to you.

Under this definition here is what makes science, scientific.

#1 It relies on observation
#2 The observation can be described with a theory
#3 The theory makes a prediction
#4 That prediction can be tested
#5 That test results in an observation

If those 5 things are not present, you do not have science. If the results of the experiment cannot be repeated, then you also don't have science. You may have some or another branch of philosophy, but not actual science. You need the rigor of the scientific method in order to make a scientific claim. Because science is a tool to describe our shared objective reality.

Science is just a tool for describing our shared objective reality!
And beyond this point of, shared objective reality, is also where science breaks down and is no longer the best tool to use.

There's a lot of stuff passing for science, that is in no way scientific. It is spiritualism or religion or general philosophy, pretending to be science.

Being unscientific doesn't make it "bad" per se; it just means that the tools of science won't help you beyond this point and you need to look for new tools, before you break your tools by banging them upon the rocks of either absolutism or the infinite.

Our science requires a thing to be measurable, but the limits of our perception are such that we need instrumentation and tools to give us the "enhanced extra senses", that we need in order to probe the depths beyond what we are endowed with. As such, our tools really don't "tell us anything". The tool gives us a measurement, in units that are within the physicality of our understanding.

Yet it is up to each of us to interpret what those measurements actually mean, regarding the subject matter under study.

This is a fancy way of saying that...

We cannot make the mystery go away by "explaining" how it works. We just tell you how it works. In telling you how it works, we will have told you about the basic peculiarities.
The game we play is a very interesting one. It's imagination, in a straightjacket.
Richard Feynman

Sort:  

thats interesting :) > i followed u. it would be nice if you check out my art! <3 kalipo

Thanks! I will check that out!

It's a good thing being wrong isn't a bad thing... instead of being wrong all the time... I just say I am constantly learning... :)

Lol I know the feeling! The nice thing about science is that if you do it wrong, yeah the lab might blow up, but at least you can learn why....

Assuming you survive of course!

Great article! I forwarded it to dh, who teaches biology at a community college :)

Wow! Thanks for sharing it around! I really appreciate it!

Very interesting post as usual @williambanks . Upvoted although I do not have much voting power. Lost my laptop so I am catching up

Cool, welcome back! Sorry to hear about your laptop.
Was wondering where you went there.
BTW one of your followers featured you in #nameinlights
https://steemit.com/created/nameinlights

At what point does an idea fail to be science?

A lot of what we believe about the Universe is based not just on physicsl observation with our eyes against a telescope, but what we can deduce from mathematic equations. We can't go into the past and see with our eyes the destruction of the dinosaurs 65 myo, nor can we witness the event that created the moon. We can't see the supernova that made the iron in our blood.

Yet scientists have been quite clever in figuring these out and making a valid timeline of events.

What ideas do you call scientific vs philosophical?

My point was that science is a tool we use for explaining our shared objective reality.
It explains the "how of it" and it is a collection of tools, based on rigor with the scientific method.

There is no point at which an idea fails to be science. Because there is no point at which an idea becomes science.
Instead, we validate our ideas as being an objective description of reality, using science as a tool for doing so.
An idea can be validated as being objectively real with science though.

I'm getting to the other stuff as well. But an idea can be tested with science to validate it as a description of some subset of objective reality. That's all I'm saying.

This didn't exactly answer my question...

I love that quote in the pic, I must remember that :)

Which one? There's two there, with a grand total of 3 quotes in the article in general. I'm kinda hoping everyone remembers them all! ;)

"Being wrong isn't a bad thing it's an opportunity to learn!"

Haha well I'll remember that one but I'll try to also remember the person who said it. I can only take in so much at a time lol.

No but seriously looking forward to the rest of this series, are you planning to do many?

I'm planning to do 2 more in this series. The next item on the list is religion.
Really glad you're enjoying it though!

I've noticed on steemd you continue to upvote the trolls that harass anybody they can find enjoyment in offending. Even their intentionally derogatory comments. I won't be supporting you in this so I'm no longer following you. I wish that you would at least wait until the block function on steemit beta is working properly before pulling their reputation up to a level that we all have to read their disgusting rape threats everywhere.

I know your intentions are good but their intentions are just not and you need to see that.

Replying here because we hit the comment depth in the reply.
I'm sorry you feel the way that you do. The choice to follow someone or not is of course entirely your own. Just remember that I never upvoted a single negative comment from anybody. I've also never intentionally flagged anyone since the rep system was put into place because I dont like what it is.

I believe we can talk and reason with anyone. I've done what I can to stay neutral but supportive and encourage positive behavior from everyone.
Punishment will never work to resolve anything. Friendship usually will.

I will support you @williambanks as long as you are not supporting them. I do not wish to fall out with you over it I just wouldn't feel comfortable giving my vote to somebody who gives theirs to verbally abusive hate preachers. I value your friendship and I know your intentions are good I think perhaps you just couldn't see the abusive undertones of the responses lauralemons & I can see.

It might not look abusive to you out off context, but psychologically you can hurt somebody without even making it look like that's your intention. I think the best thing rather than trying to reason with the unreasonable is to let it all boil over and be forgotten in time. By then hopefully steemit will have a better blocking function.

Even if after pressing mute the responses didn't come up in my replies would make a massive difference.

hey @beanz
you might want to stop with the flagging, I told feminisim I didn't support him doxing you but he gave you a warning and already started releasing your information. he told you this and your still doing it. I can not be held accountable for your or his actions.

maybe look at the info he has already released on you in my post, its transparent so you have to click it to read it. I already asked him to remove it and said I don't agree with him doing it but your not helping the situation by going out of your way to follow me around and flag me. I will not feel bad bout the transparent ones actions. maby read up on what you are doing. their is no one to blame but yourself.

not trying to harass you im trying to let you know what is going on because im not the only person effected by your shitty flagging war. I don't like the idea of doxing. please stop acting like a cunt, im trying to help for once damnit.

That's the nicest thing you've said so far. I saw that he doxxed me. I'm waiting for the gardai to come knocking on my door for flagging something on the internet.

im thinking phone calls mail flooding, fake reports to get account banned, fucking with family members ect. no matter the use its fucking stupid on both sides.

everyone is acting like spoiled brats with this flag shit. we need a thumbs down for dislike and keep the flagg for abuse.

all of you are in the wrong, knock it off.

@beanz and @skeptic
I'm not particularly fond of public displays of affection.
So why do you guys care enough to carry on like this?
You're flaggerbating eachother in my blog and making a mess.
Your mute buttons work just fine and if not, please go to github and open an issue about it there. https://github.com/steemit/steem/issues/323
Whatever you do, take it somewhere else!

Thank you.

The mute function doesn't work just fine @williambanks. Every day that I check my steemit replies it is full of responses from skeptic, earnest and feminism. I normally don't respond to them. Sorry to have brought the dirty laundry here.

Thank you both. If it were a huge problem for me, I would have just muted you both. I don't like seeing my friends fight. Anyways, click the github link and go there and comment it's important.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56456.73
ETH 2990.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.13