Meet the Hammerhead Slug, The World's Largest Terrestrial Flatworm

in #science6 years ago (edited)

I am sure you have heard about hammerhead sharks, but have you heard about hammerhead slugs? Yep, that's a real thing, just watch this video:

What you just saw is an individual of the Bipalium kewense species, or a hammerhead slug as it is commonly known. Now, I don't think I need to explain why they are called this way. However, to be a bit more precise, all the species in the Bipalium genus are called this way, thanks to their distinctive crescent-like head. Two other common names they come by are "hammerhead worms" and "broadhead planarians". Here's a photo of  another species, Bipalium strubelli:

(credit)

With over 60 recognized Bipalium species, I would need a lifetime to talk about them all, so in this post I will restrict myself to Bipalium kewense, the largest and probably best known Bipalium species.

Is It An  Earthworm or Something?

No! They might look somewhat similar but they are not closely related AT ALL! The only relationship they have is that they both belong to the animalia kingdom, but other than that, their first common ancestor is far, far, far, far, far, far, far away in the evolutionary tree!

Bipalium species are actually planarians, a type of flatworm of the Turbellaria class. Most planarians live in aquatic enviroments (both salt and fresh) but some of them like Bipalium are terrestrial. Here's a link to wikipedia if you want to learn more about planarians, they are really interesting, I promise!

(credit)

Where Can I Find One?

EVERYWHERE!  The species is believed to originate from Southeast Asia but thanks to human activity (trading) it has now become a cosmopolitan species. The best place to look for one are greenhouses, hence their other common moniker, "greenhouse planarian".

 They tend to burrow themselves in moist soil so be ready to do some digging if you really want to see one.

The species was first discovered in 1878 in the area of the Kew Park in the London Borough of Richmond upon Thames, United Kingdom, hence the specific epithet "kewense".

How Big Do They Get?  

To my knowledge, B. kewense is the world's largest terrestrial planarian with fully matured adults reaching an astonishing length of up to 30 cm! After doing some research I also believe it's the longest planarian in general, but I may be wrong. Feel free to correct me in the comments down below.

(credit)

What Do They Eat?

They are predatory animals, mainly feeding on earthworms. Do you know I really like earthworms? Why did it have to be earthworms?  :(

Other than that, they might occasionally eat each other if there is a lack of prey.

Here's a heart-braking video showing one of those fuckers eating a poor earthworm: 

What About Sex?

This is a hermaphroditic species but it doesn't seem to enjoy sex much since sexual reproduction appears to be the exception. Instead, the preferred method of reproduction appears to be asexual fragmentation which is exactly what it sounds to be. TL;DR: These critters don't party much.

Can I Eat One?

Yeah, but dunno if it's a good idea. First, they probably taste like shit with dirt. And secondly, they are known to produce tetrodotoxin, a potent neurotoxin that causes paralysis. They probably use it to paralyze their prey and/or to defend themselves against predators. I doubt the dosage is enough to do any real harm to humans but still, better eat something else.

Fun Fact: Their mouth has a double role. It's also their ass. Yep, what goes in, comes out from the same hole :D

The End

And that's pretty much all you need to know about these disgusting little critters. Feel free to click the various links in the article if you want to learn more.

Hope you enjoyed the post and learned something new. Don't forget to like, resteem, subscribe, follow, donate, comment, patreon, buy my t-shirts, give me your credit card number and stalk me for more !

See you tomorrow!

Sort:  

Wäh! It really looks kind of intriguing but also somehow nasty. :D

Nasty is a perfect word to describe it XD

@trumpman - you receive the first price today! I had somehow a "so la la" mood as we say in Germany and you made me laugh out loud while reading your post.

But also: my condolences to the poor earth-worm who was eaten by the hammer thing.

First, they probably taste like shit with dirt. And secondly, they are known to produce tetrodotoxin, a potent neurotoxin that causes paralysis.

HaHaHa!!

Maybe I would eat them in order to feel paralyzed. LOL.
Nooooooo .... in no way I would eat this Bipalium strubelli.

Name sounds good, though. Makes up for a song. Bi-Pa-lium dumdidum Strubelliiiii - LOL

Glad to have made you smile :D How does that so la la feel like? And what is my prize? Btw, you already owe me 1 hour of free psychoanalysis I haven't forgot!

That's a talent of yours, that's for sure.
Does the prize - winner of my sympathy - count or ..... must it be something material?
I will think of something

think

think

... I will send you a self-made origami 3d fireworks paper-folding. How about that? Gimme your address through discord. I promise, it's lovely and you will like it.

1 hour of psychoanalysis: well, that is going to be tough. I first must go to university and study it. I have no clue about it! LOL.
But you can have a private chat with me when something bothers you.
Twinkle.


"So la la" means ... uhm... not fish, not meat, nothing really good, nothing really bad. Does that sound?

AWESOME ! I will contact you at discord :D

The way planarians move is super weird. (The actual mechanism.)

Why? Nevermind just make a post and make some free money :p

wow... the fun fact was indeed unexpected!

The worm look disgusting who will ever care eating things like this.

Nobody, but it's a fun way to talk about potential toxicity :)

You are right.

The uniqueness of this worm does not stop there. Since all Bipalium species are hermaphrodites, they multiply in a more flexible way. Some species exchange sperm through internal fertilization and then lay eggs in or on the ground.

In addition, many reproduce asexually with fragmentation. "They release a piece of their body while crawling on the ground, and then this piece will grow all the needed parts of the body ... and voila, so be it.

Thaks you.....

Thanks for answering this question, I was really wondering :P

Where Can I Find One?

Great work as always!!!

Πάρε φτυάρι και ξεκίνα το σκάψιμο!

Στην πόρτα με πέτυχες!

I remember the planarians in my undergraduate Zoology classes.

The fourth picture you shared looks like a leech!

What a creature!

Well here is a strange slug, but I'm not surprised, you always tell us stories of animals or very special people. I still love reading you so much. A humor rather crazy but it always makes me laugh, it's the most important. Thanks @trumpman ^^

If you laugh, I did a good job :D

I am aware of the flatworms, but I didn't know, that there is also a species named hammerhead slugs. They look very interesting. :D

Glad you learned something new ^_^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60675.97
ETH 3383.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52