Goodbye, litte mice!

in #science7 years ago (edited)

Picture

One year. One year, I’ve worked in the facility that breeds and raises lab mice for my university’s research and education needs.

For one year, I’ve cleaned cages, refilled water bottles, helped sick mice regain their health, made sure pregnant mice had the best conditions and newborn mice didn’t suffer from some painful genetic condition.

And now, I must leave them all behind because my education requires me to focus more attention on my studies. There is no way that I can do both, work with the lab mice and finish my degree.

What have I seen in that one year?

I’ve seen pregnant mice give birth to beautiful babies that look like tiny piglets when they’re only a day old. With their eyes closed and their ears tightly attached to their head, they already wiggle around and squeak in protest when you move them from their dirty cage into a fresh one.

The first few of those babies are now a year old and most of them had offspring they selves. Some of them are dead, either because they were needed for research or because they got very sick and couldn’t recover. It always hurt to end one of their lives, even if they were suffering horribly.

Only a few months back, when my boss was on vacation, someone removed a nursing mother mouse from a cage instead of the father by accident. The babies should not have survived. But 5 days later, we discovered them severely dehydrated but very much alive. Somehow, their father had managed to supply them with food and water. We still wonder how he did it. But the babies, they survived without any lasting damage.

There is a special area with some really old mice, they are 2 and sometimes even 3 years old and they’re all females. The old ladies, we call them. Their fur isn’t as shiny anymore and they move slowly, but they still get excited at the smell of peanut butter. They’re not really supposed to have it; only pregnant mice need the extra energy. But who can resist those eyes? Those cute, twitchy noses? Not me.

One male mouse, I call him Hugo, he has had a note attached to his cage that reads Keep an eye on him! Breathing is sometimes very irregular. Might be suffering.
This note has been there for half a year and Hugo still refuses to confirm the fears my boss had. I’m sure he’ll outlive several of the younger mice.

There are so many more happy moments I had with these mice, as well as very sad ones. But I don’t want to remember the sad ones because they are all linked to death and disease. Breeding lab mice is just as awful as breeding thoroughbred dogs or cats or chicken. If you’re breeding for specific traits, some individuals will suffer from hereditary diseases.

So while I do my last rounds, check on my lovelies one more time, I just hope that my successor adores them just as much as I do. Because I will certainly miss them a lot.



Got a scientific topic which you want to see as a story? Leave me a comment!
Check out @steemstem and the #steemSTEM channel in steemit.chat to support scientists on steemit!
Picture taken from pixabay.com

Sort:  

It's lovely to see that someone in your field of work has so much respect for these little creatures. I hope your successor is the same. Good luck with your studies.

It is amazing how strong you can be and how much the work with such tiny creatures changed your view- It is beautiful to see life grow and to see how much better these little creatures can make your studies and help develop new medicine for us. I bet you will become a great scientist one day and make our life much better day by day.

Good to see you so caring for your lab mice. All living creatures need care and affection. I can understand how much you will miss them

Will they miss you too?

Aw, it is good that you have looked after them, a few summers ago i was sat at home and my car alarm started going off so i went outside and all was fine with the car, but i noticed my cat had a mouse in its mouth, I managed to get the cat to release the mouse and i took the mouse to the back of the house and put it under a bush, it looked fine, about 20 minutes later the car alarm went off again and there was the cat with another or the same mouse in its mouth and again i managed to recover the mouse alive from the cat and release it, i dont really know what conclusion to draw from this, either i was meant to rescue them and there was some kind of intervention via my car alarm or when mice are distressed they emit high frequencies that can activate alarms or maybe my car likes mice and was trying to help, I have no idea lol.

Aww they are very cute, can you send on a couple of them through the internet line @suesa hahahah just kidding

nice

@aniksh got you a $0.21 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice!
@aniksh got you a $0.21 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice! (Image: pixabay.com)


Want a boost? Click here to read more!

I recall reading a while back that lab mice are highly inbred in order to create a "standard" mouse so there won't be too much variation in test results between this batch of mice and that batch. While I understand the logic of that, it still sounds kinda sad from the perspective of the mice.

That's true. And while I see how it's necessary, I don't like doing it.

A deep post. What matters, the journy or the purpose? I see that for you both matter.

It makes one wonder how scientists who experimented on humans back in the day felt about their subjects. How did they justify their actions to themselves in order to go on...

Beautiful creatures

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65355.38
ETH 2656.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87