Useless information #47 - "Conan the bacterium"steemCreated with Sketch.

in #science7 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Useless information #47 - "Conan the bacterium"


I moved to Hive. You can read all my content there.
Due to a sad series of events steem is no longer decentralized nor censorship-resistant.
I don't know how it will look like in the future but right now it's more like a personal database than a proper blockchain.
Check out Hive.io

Sort:  

Dinococcus radiodurans is quite the interesting little bug. Its ability to resist radiation is thought to stem from its high genome copy number (aka it has more than one of its full genome per cell).

When ionizing radiation hits DNA it breaks it into fragments, these fragments are repaired by a variety of pathways with the most common being one called homologous recombination. This process works through complementarity between the broken DNA and intact DNA, and is particularly effective at repairing breaks during chromosomal replication (when there is often two genomes present, the parental copy and the newly forming daughter copy). In dinococcus, it has at minimum 2 copies of its genome, and during active replication phases of its cell cycle it can have up to 10 copies! This means that if large amounts of radiation blast at it there will be a lot of homologous intact regions that the repair machinery of the cell can use as a template to stitch the broken pieces back together in the appropriate locations.

Fascinating! :)

Great mechanism. You could have written a post, there's enough information in your comment :)

Go ahead and use it and write a follow up.

I've got to try doing that myself, sometime! ; )

Exposing your self to radiation? You would not be so fortunate as our friend Dinococcus. :D

I was focused on making more copies of my genome -- gotta be ready, in case of that ionizing radiation! It will take a lot of chromosomal replication practice, lol. (i.e., joking)

Some people love cockroaches, some hate them and then there are those who are like them! :P

a new breed :)

As a kid, I raised Wood Cockroaches (Parcoblatta spp.) to feed to my pet Rough Green Snake (Opheodrys aestivus). Those wood roaches are clean and not aggressive or icky at all. They liked handing out on moist decaying wood, under loose bark. They were so easy to raise, just in a gallon jar tipped sideways. No cage cleaning, just keep putting in new moist wood with loose bark. I did that for almost 5 years. They are my favorite cockroach, lol! Happy New Year! And have a great year in 2017, full of nature.

Thanks! Happy 2017!
Cool pet : )

I loved my snake so much. We moved to a new town and I carried him on my lap the whole 5 hour trip. But I didn't bring along the wood roaches - I was just going to start them up again in our new town. I fed my snake a cricket I caught by the foundation of the house, right when we got there. He died within hours! Probably from poison sprayed around the house foundation by the landlord, as part of 'sprucing the place up for the new tenants'. I cried for days - days! I was inconsolable. Who knew a kid could get so attached to a snake. That shows the advantage of raising cockroaches and not catching insects from the yard for a pet reptile.

You sure learned a lesson with that one

Yep. That was a lesson about a lot of things. Being a kid isn't always easy. But we learn things. Learning not to hide mud turtles in my underwear drawer was a little easier lesson, lol.

ahahah you were a cool kid!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94