You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Useless information #47 - "Conan the bacterium"

in #science8 years ago

As a kid, I raised Wood Cockroaches (Parcoblatta spp.) to feed to my pet Rough Green Snake (Opheodrys aestivus). Those wood roaches are clean and not aggressive or icky at all. They liked handing out on moist decaying wood, under loose bark. They were so easy to raise, just in a gallon jar tipped sideways. No cage cleaning, just keep putting in new moist wood with loose bark. I did that for almost 5 years. They are my favorite cockroach, lol! Happy New Year! And have a great year in 2017, full of nature.

Sort:  

Thanks! Happy 2017!
Cool pet : )

I loved my snake so much. We moved to a new town and I carried him on my lap the whole 5 hour trip. But I didn't bring along the wood roaches - I was just going to start them up again in our new town. I fed my snake a cricket I caught by the foundation of the house, right when we got there. He died within hours! Probably from poison sprayed around the house foundation by the landlord, as part of 'sprucing the place up for the new tenants'. I cried for days - days! I was inconsolable. Who knew a kid could get so attached to a snake. That shows the advantage of raising cockroaches and not catching insects from the yard for a pet reptile.

You sure learned a lesson with that one

Yep. That was a lesson about a lot of things. Being a kid isn't always easy. But we learn things. Learning not to hide mud turtles in my underwear drawer was a little easier lesson, lol.

ahahah you were a cool kid!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54034.48
ETH 2262.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31