Food, agriculture and satellites: a glimpse of my new job

in #science7 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Food, agriculture and satellites: a glimpse of my new job


I moved to Hive. You can read all my content there.
Due to a sad series of events steem is no longer decentralized nor censorship-resistant.
I don't know how it will look like in the future but right now it's more like a personal database than a proper blockchain.
Check out Hive.io

Sort:  

I've stopped at Romania:)
I will definitelly read more about this. Thanks!

: ) I've been preparing the groundpoints for the Giurgiu region. The Romanian team should go to the field soon. The other reference region in Romania is Bistrița-Năsăud.

Bistrita Nasaud is a beautiful region, I know we have someone from Bistrita on steemit also, @nicolaepavelean. Giurgiu is a poor region with great agriculture potential. Wish you the best of luck with this and as little bureaucracy as possible.

Cool. I have inside information now :)
I'll probably go to Romania to perform quality control. I'll ask you and @nicolaepavelean for advice if I need some.

Hi rmach. Nice pictures. I'm wondering, have you ever checked out AIVS? Your land looks flat, looks like an easy transition.

Nop. Most of it is flat, yes. At least the parts where agriculture is located.

I didn't know you were busy with this! This is a great and very interesting project. When are you expecting the first results?

We have some promising preliminary results regarding the classification of agriculture areas vs non-agriculture areas and also a proxy of what agriculture areas are more probable to be dominated by small agriculture.
More tests are being run and we believe we'll achieve very good accuracies once the multitemporal analysis is finished.
As to estimation of productivity and crop type maps we won't be able to get it done before the end of the year.

Don't hesitate to share that here. I am very curious (and hopefully I will not miss the posts... :p )

Such a great project! I can see why the new job got you all exited. Have a great weekend!

Yes. Interesting and hopefully useful :)

wow..great work you guys are doing out there...
so what are the major challenges and what have you guy done to improve on it
what of other countries not covered. I think Sub sahara Africa deserves better cover as they are more disadvantaged...

We'll have to wait a bit more before we know what the real impact is.
The remote sensing work is expected to end by March but the project will last until 2020.

ok...am interested to know further. always keep me posted
do also check my blog posts for some of my few posts and comment your thoughts... support and follow also. thanks and good work

will do

great and do check some of my blog post for yur entertainment and support/comment/follow
thanks

Creative work you have, @rmach. And very useful for to people in different countries=)))

Yes, it's suppose to help boost the agriculture and food systems in some regions of Africa as well. Let's see what we can do :)

Don't even know what I can help=)

very correct @natasmr
the work is awesome

That's interesting. So what happens when the crops change over the year?.. There goes rmach doing all the work once again.

Two different crops in the same plot and in the same crop year is not something to worry about. At least not in Portugal.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62182.25
ETH 2437.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61