You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Electroplating: The Second Best Thing

in #science7 years ago

Very nice topic of discuss. It connects to me in a very nice way. I would like to share my knowledge here.

As much as electroplating is a good way of applying electrolysis, corrosion is a bad way it happens.
The metal which is corroding is the anode, another part of the metal (or something which is electrically connected to the metal) is the cathode and the corrosive environment (soil or atmosphere) being the electrolyte. With all this present, the electrolytic (or corrosion) cell is complete and the metal corrodes with time.

This process can be prevented by a series of means of which the most efficient being cathodic protection

Sort:  

I love the way you simplified the whole process using corrosion. It makes it easy to remember how electrolysis works without having to think too much. It seems I have entered your domain this time. Thank you for your valuable comment. I have learned something from it.

Thank you for your nice comment.

I would have written more but i was dozing at that time. A lot of these concepts are guided by the seemingly simple and fundamental principles (transfer of electrons and the likes).
I am glad you are interested in corrosion,it is an interesting aspect of engineering (I'm actually a mechanical engineering graduate)

Good morning

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53921.46
ETH 2250.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30