@mada This is Your Name in LightssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #science8 years ago

This is my first attempt at the @williambanks #nameinlights initiative.  I hadn't thought about doing something like this previously because I have fewer followers than many of my followers do.  Wasn't thinking about the broader visibility of the hashtag, I guess.

In any case, I'd like to introduce @mada.  He was one of my first contacts here on SteemIt, someone who consistently left thoughtful comments on my posts (never just a thumbs-up from that guy).  His own posts are often process-commentary on his paintings, which are interesting in a wow-I-wish-I-had-the-patience-for-that kind of way but not what really turns my crank.  That happens at the intersection of the Venn diagram for neuroscience, social policy, and science fiction.  @mada has a series of posts he calls #trancewar, on the unseen currents that drive our political ecosystem, for instance the upwelling of blue-collar anger that Trump managed to harness so effectively during the 2016 campaign.  A more fun treatment of some of those same themes is a sci-fi novel he posted here to Steemit called H-17, which I reviewed here to capture a bounty he had posted.  It was that experience that inspired me to start posting reviews of other books, which have generally been my most popular ones.  So in one sense, @mada is responsible for most of what I've written here.

Today was the first time I had followed any threads of his writing outside of Steemit.  From his #introduceyourself post, I went to his website, where he has another book (which I haven't read yet) and where he describes the cluster headaches that have prevented him from getting a "real" 9-5 job.  I had a choice about leaving that world to become an entrepreneur, for which I am grateful, but now I'm curious about what the "couple of small businesses" he mentioned are.

I could maybe say more, but I'm due to see Dr. Strange in about 20 minutes.  Hope all of your Sundays are equally trippy.

Sort:  

This was a pleasant surprise - I'm honored. Thanks @plotbot!!!

To answer your question about my other jobs: In addition to making art and writing, I own a little publishing company, do weird research jobs (for companies and academics) and still take on the occasional strategic foresight/business development consulting contract.

Interesting! My editor has a small press in mind for our first evolution-themed anthology grant, but it may not work out -- one never knows about these kinds of things.

I am very familiar with the #nameinlights tag and haven't used it in a while. Well, shoot, I could have actually used it for my latest post! RAWR!
Anyway, you're new to me and so is @mada. I will definitely be checking both of you out! :)

Thanks. Pleasure to meet you.

I think you can update tags for up to 30 days @merej99

@plotbot2015 Thank you for bringing @mada to my attention. Sorry I was late to the game. I actually read this and even bookmarked it, then got swamped. Was going through my bookmarks when I realized I had totally missed responding on this.

You have my upvote and my follow, @mada you seem like a great choice for #nameinlights and welcome to steemit!

upvoted and resteemed!

Awesome - thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68154.08
ETH 3274.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66