You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Electricity--Past, Present and Future: Moving into the 21st Century with Microgrids

in #science6 years ago

Excellent post, microgrids are exactly the type of tech/system that come under the category of Technological Leapfrogging when deployed to low-income settings. With this kind of innovation, new girds stand a good chance of being of better quality than in some of aging grids in high-income countries. We keep cobbling bits together on top of the older system, while they can start from scratch and hopefully develop something cheaper and more resilient.

There are so many problems facing us today that seem unsolvable. Electricity delivery is not one of those.

I really hope you’re right! A while back, I got a little scared of cascade failure within our power grids and wrote this post. I now live in constant fear of a solar coronal mass ejection. “The big one” is coming someday, if we don’t have the resilience in place by then it could be game over for many of us in the west.

Resteemed and I hope it gets picked up by @steemSTEM

Sort:  

What a blog! (yours from last month). Of course, the worst thing that might happen is loss of Netflix--oh, no. Seriously, you make the argument so well for preparedness. It's kind of a creepy Walking Dead apocalypse scenario. I do think the age of the grid is over...so vulnerable, so inefficient. Part of the resistance to addressing the issue is lack of imagination--people can't believe that life as they know it can disappear--and also money. Powerful forces are invested in the grid system: utility companies, stockholders, oil and gas producers, even government agencies. A new, smart, reliable, sustainable system of electricity delivery is not in their short-term interest.
Can't believe I missed your post--great stuff I miss on Steemit. Need a better system of sorting through.
Thank you for resteeming, and for your good wishes. The fact that you think the blog is worthwhile makes my day.

Thanks, yes I was pleased with that one, even if it did turn out a little dark in the end.

Part of the resistance to addressing the issue is lack of imagination. People can't believe that life as they know it can disappear

I have this sort of feeling for a lot of problems, until that is I meet the people that actually work on the problems. For instance, before I was around public health people I thought a global flu pandemic would for sure lead to the classic apocalypse scenario. Now, however, I understand more of the complexities and can see that governments do a lot of work behind the scenes preparing for these scenarios. I'm willing to bet that power infrastructure is the same.

Yes I'm interested to see how the new steemSTEM app will change the curation. I try to keep my feed updated but there is still a far amount of crap to sift through on a daily basis.

Thanks for the reassurance--if people like you are working at it, I feel better :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95