Video Training Quiz (Atomic Physics Video Series – Part 5)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #science7 years ago

The last episode of the Atomic Physics series: It's time for you to take pen and paper and check your understanding of the topic!

The video below proposes an exercise that is an excellent training for students preparing their IB or A-Levels in Physics. Although it is completely original, I devised this test based on the type of questions that could be encountered at the exam. Teachers, if this exercise can be of use to you and your students, feel free (no attribution required).  

You want to work out the exercise before checking the video? Give it a shot!
Here are the questions:

This 5th episode closes the Atomic Physics Video Series.

The first video of this series discusses the energy of an atom within the scope of the model defined by Niels Bohr. Such model describes an atom as being a nucleus around which electrons are in circular orbit. This is the model used for the whole series as an introduction to the amazing world of quantum mechanics.  

The second video describes light as both being a localized wave and a particle, but most importantly, it explains that light is made of quanta of energy (fixed amounts of energy) called photons. The size of the quanta of energy of a given light defines the color of that light. 

The third video shows us that the energy of an atom can only exhibit certain values, in other words, that the energy of an atom is quantized. This is why it is said that an atom has levels of energy.  

The 4th episode derives from scratch Bohr's formula starting by a “classical” description of the atom and then by proposing the quantisation of the angular momentum of the electron (as Bohr did!). The video completes the derivation by obtaining the famous equation for energy levels permitted in the Hydrogen atom. Finally, it uses this equation to calculate the permitted energies of a hydrogen atom.  

This video series is aimed at providing an introduction to the quantum world to non-scientists and high school students preparing for their high school exams. 

If you wish to deepen your understanding, please explore @lemouth 's quantum mechanics series. The relevant chapter to this video series is: Quantum mechanics lessons on Steemit - 10 - the Bohr model of the atom. Check at the end of his post for a table of content of his articles on the subject. 

Image credit: the friezes were created using images found on Pixabay.com

Hi,
I’m @muphy,
My life revolves around music production, teaching sciences, and discovery through travel.
You enjoyed that post?    Resteem and Upvote!
You are interested in these topics?    Follow me!

Sort:  

you're not only a musician but also a great physician and scientist :)
my father forced all the family to choose Math and he wanted us to become professors, only my bigger brother became a professor, but I left math field after my High school finished and I chose English Literature...
but I really respect scientists and physicians!!
great job man! you have all, arts, engineering, mathematics and physics!
peace!!

Thanks Davood!

You know, sciences and arts are very close to one another... A maths proof can be absolutely beautiful, like a moving piece of music, or are dazzling painting.

An idea or discovery in physics can transport you in a world of imagination...

For example, I remember an instrumental track I wrote years ago when I was excited by the descent of the Huygens probe on Titan (i had taken a half day off to witness the event direct on Internet, and composed it while I was waiting for the data to come in!). We were waiting to see if Titan actually contained lakes of liquid ethane or methane (which we know now it does). As it was suspected also to have a weather system, I imagined myself windsurfing on Titan (title of the track):

Here is the picture that illustrated the piece (the colors I chose are based on what I suspect we would see...):

Very nice. I have no comments here, but just wanted to congratulate you for your nice series of videos. I hope this will be useful for your students!

Thank you again @lemouth, for following and appreciating this series.

My students, actually have me for themselves (I am a private tutor in science), so these videos are just a support if they need to review something when I am not around.

The videos are targeted actually to my Youtube following , where many young students have thanked me for unlocking their blocks allowing them to move forwards: the best of the best of rewards a teacher can receive!

It is really a nice post. Thank you for sharing this kind of educative material for all us.

Thank you, I am glad you enjoyed it. If you have some high school students within your followers, feel free to Resteem! by the way, have you given a shot to the exercise?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63643.10
ETH 2582.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75