Nature Identification Thread #16- Now Paying out Steem Basic Income Memberships to Participants!

in #science6 years ago

It's time for the weekly nature identification thread! Post pictures of plants, animals, rocks, or other cool stuff that you've photographed but can't identify, and I, along with anyone else who would like to help, will try and help you identify it. I'll be making some changes to it- most notably, I'll be using the SBD proceeds from this post to give out @steembasicincome memberships to people who post stuff to be identified or help me identify photos.

image.png
The northern short-tailed shrew (Blarina brevicuada) isn't much to look at, but it's one of the most fascinating creatures in the animal kingdom. This badtempered little mammal grows to about 4-5 inches in length, is nearly blind, and has an exceptionally poor sense of smell for a rodent. Despite this, it's a voracious and highly successful hunter. While this North American rodent does eat small amounts of fungi and seeds, most of its diet is composed of insects, worms, snails, voles, mice, salamanders, and even other species of shrews. And, if that weren't impressive enough, it eats three times its own body weight every day. How does it capture its prety with such poor vision and scent? It has an incredibly fine sense of touch, and it actually echolocates! Even when it has a full stomach, it keeps hunting, using the extra to establish a hoard of food. The most interesting thing about the shrew? It's one of the only venomous mammals on the planet, with venomous saliva capable of causing intense pain to humans or killing animals more than twice its size, including snakes and birds. [Image source]

Remember: The most important information you can give along with any photo to be identified is its geographical location. This narrows down the range of possibilities more than any other info you can provide.

Plants:
Along with the photo, add where you found it, the time of year, the approximate altitude, and any interesting scents or textures not caught in the photo.

Animals:
Along with the photo, add the location you found it, the time of year, the sounds it made, any interesting behaviors, and any other features not caught well in the photo.

Rocks:
Along with the photo, add the location you found it, a description of the terrain it was found in, whether it was attached to a rock outcrop or found loose on the ground or buried in the soil, a description of its texture (especially its grain size), and a description of its weight and density. Fossils are included in this category. (Despite my greatest expertise lying here, rocks tend to be some of the hardest things to identify in a photo.)

Fungi:
I will not be identifying mushrooms and fungi for foraging purposes. Mushrooms should really only be identified for foraging purposes in person and by an expert. If another contributor wishes to identify them, that's their call, but I encourage them to be similarly cautious. I might also try to identify a few fungi that are clearly not being looked at for the purposes of eating, but that'll be a case by case decision.

@valth, @snowyknight, @soill, @stav-cohen, @bossel, & @motordrive all earned @steembasicincome memberships for submitting to the last nature identification thread or helping identify submissions. Congratulations!


Bibliography:


Sort:  

Thanks for the @steembasicincome membership! Any idea about this plant?:

DSC_0292 – Kopi.JPG

Opposite leafs:

DSC_0293 – Kopi.JPG

These are also growing in a flower bed, but I didn't plant these. They are most likely not native to Norway, and they do pop up every summer. The images are from a week or so ago, so they are in full bloom right now.

These are from the genus Dianthus. Grown as ornemental tropical plants in the greenhouse I work at.

in venezuela they look like violet flowers, but it is important to know what country or place the photos are where they are taken to help you identify them.

Good point. I forgot to mention that they are from Norway. But I don't think they are native to Norway.

image

This little guy was seen at Olympic National Park in Washington state a couple weeks back! Gerbil, gopher, groundhog, maybe?

Groundhog, I'd wager? If it were a prarie dog, there'd be a huge colony of them rather than a single fellow.

I sent you a gift from @dustsweeper 💎
I really like what you do and especially the
Nature Identification Thread !
Thank you @mountainwashere! 💕

Hey. Great place to think about things and solicit help from the community. Thanks @mountainwashere!

Here is one for you. His/her head is not visible. But from the shell, it is a turtle or tortoise. My boot for scale. I took this photo in East Africa. Anyone know what this is (species or common name) and perhaps how old he/she is?

All I know is it has a beautiful shell! Thanks!

!
Screen Shot 2018-06-25 at 4.26.10 pm.png

I can't tell you the species from this photo, but did you get a look at its feet? That should allow you to determine if its a turtle or tortoise at least :)

Hey. Ok first off, I do not remember what the feet looked like, but I may have a photo showing them. I'll look...

Ok does this help?

Screen Shot 2018-06-27 at 2.17.27 pm.png

I recall she/he was friendly... no biting.. hahahaha

I think it might be a leopard tortoise (Stigmochelys pardalis), but I'm not 100 % sure. These grow to be pretty big, so it's probably a young one.

Cool! Sounds good to me. I am blind when it comes to biology of most sorts! The pictures on google look pretty good, especially with the feet and legs...

Thank you!

Hehe, it can be pretty difficult to find the correct species, and there are people who spend years learning how to do this ;) And you're welcome. I'm pretty sure it's the correct species, especially when @mountainwashere agrees with it.

Thanks again to all and for this feedback! And for the input from @mountainwashere too! Have a good one.

I'll second the Stigmochelys pardalis ID!

I think is a turtle for sure. It is a common species in Venezuela.

Well now I'm confused... turtle or tortoise? Thanks for stopping by!

Thanks!

Looks pretty close... maybe @mountainwashere or someone else can weigh in to call the current tie???

I'm voting Stigmochelys pardalis!

Ok thanks!
Unless we get more data we may have to stand at that... but I'm going to stay open minded in case there is additional insight!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68399.98
ETH 3840.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64