Tree of Life: How Animals Became Animals?

in #science6 years ago

Today we continue our journey to humanity through the tree of life, piece by piece. We've traveled from the big three domains of life, all the way through some very grey, impossible to conclusively define areas that scientists still squabble over to this day:

But after all that, we're still 1.3 billion years in the past! The next phase is sub-billions of years ago, called the Filozoa.

Filozoa

Around 900 million years ago, we break off once more into a branch that still consists of 1.3 million known species. We're in there somewhere. Filozoa is defined as a grouping within the Opisthokonta, which is a broader group within the Eukaryota Domain.

It consists of Animals - Us - and unicellular relatives that aren't quite animals, but closer than that of fungi and others. The way things are organized here differ once again depending on your source, but typically its divided into Filasterea - which is the proposed name for the group consisting of various things that eat bacteria, and Apoikozoa - which holds true animals as well as choanoflagellates which I briefly discussed in the previous episode.

Salpingoeca rosetta, one of only 2 Choanoflagellates with their full genome sequences

This means that the choanoflagellate you see on the right is the closest relative possible to 'Animals' - but not an animal. On the whole, we know of barely 125 choanoflagellates that exist today, all in various marine environments up to 300m in depth.

They do indeed serve an important role in the ecosystem, despite how we've never actually heard of them, by unlocking forms of carbon life couldn't otherwise access by chomping on bacteria, and giving higher organisms a chance to access it. This makes them a small yet vital player in the carbon cycle game.

Apoikozoa is literally translated to mean 'Colony animal', referring to how animals and choanoflagellates can be multicellular, like a colony. This means that those in the Apoikozoa are the only organisms to consume carbon for energy - heterotrophs - that form colonies of multiple cells.

However, Choanoflagellates only sometimes do this, raising another grey area in the tree of life; did they adopt this ability from further back in the tree before animals and they split? Or did animals and choanoflagellates develop multicellular abilities separately, and if so, what mechanism made it likely for this convergent evolution to occur twice?

How Animals came to be

This is one of the big questions. Perhaps I should reword it: How Heterotrophs became multicellullar. We're not at animals yet, exactly.

The simple answer is 'we don't know'. But there are many ideas. According to Graham E. Budd and Sören Jensen., single celled life would have formed kind of blankets of organic life which was common back in the day, competing for nutrient rich areas. These blankets would presumably come together and be the main link between single celled organisms and ediacaran life - the earliest known complex, multi-cellular organisms.


A classic example of an immobile blanket of complex life - an Ediacaran

The Ediacaran period was a large one, spanning from 630-540 million years ago, the period that came before the Cambrian, though Budd & Jensen later put a much earlier date on their hypothesis of blanket-animal creation and Ediacaran life survived a good 50 million years into the Cambrian.

One striking theory is that Ediacarans actually evolved brains and nervous systems independently from the animal kingdom, yet still do not fit into animalia because they lack any embryonic stage of life. Martin Glaessner, the paleontologist throwing this idea around even implied that this could have been another path towards intelligent life aside from our own.

I can't yet find any evidence to back this claim up, but if so it would be a fascinating discovery; the question of why we are the only species from the only pathway that led to such intelligent life is a huge one. If intelligent life only happened once, it suggests that being intelligent was not an important adaptation for survival, merely a grain of dirt on the tree, there only to be brushed off like a flea. I like that idea.

Anyway, becoming multi-cellular is a pretty huge step and it would be unjust to cram it all into this single post so I'll do more on that next time when we finally reach the more recognizable branch on the tree:

Animalia.


In case you still aren't familiar

Thanks for reading!

gear2.gif

All images CC0 Licensed

References: Ediacaran life | Mark McMenamin | The origin of the animals and a ‘Savannah’ hypothesis for early bilaterian evolution | http://journals.plos.org/plosone/article?id=10.1371/journal.pone.0002098 | Apoikozoa | Estimating the timing of early eukaryotic diversification with multigene molecular clocks

Sort:  

The number of spam comments on your posts today is alarmingly high :)
Someone opened a spam gate and released the trolls.
I thought evolution have an answer to how we became multicellular and other advances in animal complexities. Graham E. Budd and Sören Jensen explanations sounds pretty good to explain the theories of how it all came to be.

I like how science tries to answer the most difficult of questions, if it becomes so hard, the theories always have a way of explaining it.

The number of spam comments on your posts today is alarmingly high

That's the hard truth. Steemit cannot run without new members and most of these new members are not well tutored on the do's and don'ts of the community.

The result is spam galore!

@eurogee, most of these spammers are beyond redemption. Most know its spam, they think they can outsmart the content creators for an upvote or follow or both by dropping generic mindless copied and pasted comments.

Talking about tutorial, I received none when I found myself here. No one actually told me how it works. But I'd like to believe that the mindless commenters are human and have a certain level of IQ that shows that it is not appreciated to drop generic comments on posts they did not read
I really do not believe it's a tutorial issues. Some just are that way.

And I didn't receive from anyone either. I think you have a point. Reply my message to you on discord. Thanks

Yeah it's the great experience of community; when one gives up on an answer, others come and pick up the pieces and continue! It's an ever growing blanket of knowledge =)

As for the spammers... I think it's because I used the steemiteducation tag... it's happened before when I used it I think... I'll have to experiment

Really? I'd give the tag a spin as I need more "engagement" in my comment section :)

The knowledge never ends as long as we keep asking questions.

This is certainly another interesting theory on evolution of multicellular organisms that I am not aware of. Science always try to provide logical opinions to a complex question. And that makes it an interesting field.

There literally appears to be a new theory of evolution every week when it comes down to the nitty gritty details of the distant past, but they all kind of fit comfortably around each other... quite fascinating. Thanks as always for reading!

I read good post not scraps. And when it comes to that, mehn, you have earned a name! Congratulations

Aw, shucks ^__^

Nice piece buddy.
The concept of evolution is quite big, and because none of us lived through history, we are majorly left with fossil records to decipher the trend of evolution. But you've done justice to this. Good one

Sorry I must have missed this comment! The more you learn about what historians go through to depict an accurate picture, the more respect you have for them. Even modern history is so full of deception and lies - the winners tell their side of the story, the losers are forgotten after all. The same goes with fossil records and other methods; we have to fight with deception of nature!

Sorry I must have missed this comment

Lol. I understand buddy. It's really not easy multitasking and all that.

The more you learn about what historians go through to depict an accurate picture, the more respect you have for them.

I agree 100% with you. My mum is a historian, and I know what she goes through tying to put together fragments of incomplete historical evidences.

P.S: That could be the reason I picked a little interest in history and evolution :D

I thought I knew some science. This one completely threw me. And the names of those single-celled organisms! Apoikozoa doesn't sound English at all. However, I can imagine that the roads that led us here are narrow and the thread that binds life together is tenuous indeed.

While it may seem that we are the only species with our level of intelligence and as such intelligence may not be a requirement for adaptation and survival, I think that other organisms may have just enough intelligence to avoid untimely death from avoidable circumstances, even though they cannot build a civilisation.

Furthermore, examining the intricate way in which proteins assembled to form the cell and considering the fact that no other sequence of combination would have resulted to life, suggests that everything is just the way they are because they are the best possible way they could be.

I don't know what I'm talking about but your tree of life quest is indeed fascinating and I'm glad I spent some time reading it. Well done.

Heh well they're not technically English. In this case, Greek, but usually Greek or Latin when it comes to scientific nomenclature. All I knew was 'zoa' which you find often in biology since it means 'animal'.

And yeah I'm careful not to call humans the most successful creature. Many animals dominate the planet and simply use us and our habits to their advantage; ants, spiders, mites, rats. If crops disappeared, humanity would pretty much be doomed. If humans disappeared, crops would do pretty darn good! Perhaps that is a form of intelligence, philosophically speaking

Yeah I have come across 'zoa' a few times in biology. You're are right. We are not the most successful even though we now dominate. Thank you for replying my comment.

This is really well done @mobbs. I am personally not knowledgeable in this pathway of evolution and what is known/not known as you traverse your way along the tree of life towards animals. I know a bit more about the bacterial/archaeal branches, but once you split from the LCA from Archaea and Eukaryota I'm pretty lost.

So I found this pretty interesting. (And actually came across it since I purged my feed).

Thanks! I think any claim to be knowledgable in this area would imply that person is not knowledgeable... the amount of gaps and unknowns i've been coming across is unreal, yet it still manages to paint a pretty reliable picture. Glad I wasn't one of the purged!

Why would you be? I like reading your posts (when I find time to read). :)

^________^ (that's a very wide happy face)

Am no biologist or have any knowledge like you in the area, as I read your article diatoms(I think they are called plankton also) came to mind, they are single cell organisms but their ability to live in colonies and coordinate as one unit is astonishing, which begs the question is intelligence a result of an evolved brain and nervous system?

Of course there are many kinds of intelligence; ants for example express an intelligence that arguably makes them more successful creatures on earth than humans (They had farming, slavery, city-sized structures, millions of years before humans existed), but our unique 'higher intelligence' that allows us to reason and create and debate... quite unique to the brain system we own, even though the cells that make up the brain are simply acting as individual cells working together... complicated topic!

I think that Choanoflagellates did adopt multicellular abilities from further back in the tree before animals, it is more likely that it happened that way. Well, that is what I think. But it would be extremely interesting if they and animals would develop those abilities separately. How would that be possible? What do the scientists say? What do they think is more likely? Do you know maybe? 😌

Well, convergent evolution as it's called, is surprisingly common. The idea that the same thing evolved completely separately multiple times. For example, wings. Bats, birds, insects, even fish - all evolved wings separately as the solution to whatever challenge they had.

Eyes evolved several times too, camouflage and mimicry, flipper fins in dolphins (mammals) and sharks (fish) - which is why sharks are vertical and dolphins are horizontal.

It's possible that the need for a brainy nervous system was needed but the animal kingdom took over that environment faster... so I think it's possible!

Of course, convergent evolution. Well, then it is possible. I wasn't looking at the big picture here. Thanks for the answer. I look forward to your new posts, they are really interesting.

This is amazing, just like in my secondary school days about plant and animal kingdom.

Dunno what school you went to but I never associated mine with the word amazing!

https://steemit.com/volleyball/@muhammadzainijoi/this-is-my-hobby

excuse me senior
please upvote new post
hopefully my senior visit my profile

The elephant eyes

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58668.45
ETH 3162.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44