You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are We Making Electric Vehicles Wrong?

in #science7 years ago

Someone has to start somewhere and Tesla is doing an amazing job! If it weren't for Tesla and Elon Musk you wouldn't see this new rush in development of electric cars. The infrastructure is growing, it pretty much get's doubled or tripled every year! The new Tesla 3 has two options, the second one has a range of 310 miles, that is almost 500 km. Who drives 500 km without taking a break? Take a break, drink a coffee and move on. Your article really sounds like a "first world problem". There are so many benefits in owning an electric car and all disadvantages are slowly disappearing with the higher adoption rate and technological improvements.

Sort:  

I am not negative about electric cars, far from it! I love them and all that Tesla (and others) are doing. We need to stop using fossil fuels now! I agree the 310 range is very impressive but if all the car manufacturers start installing charging points everywhere it's going to use up a lot of roadside space and look very ugly. Plus the expensive batteries are quite an issue for consumer uptake. Just trying to think outside the box on how the whole system could potentially work better. I'm no scientist but thought about this idea so decided to post.

Haha I kinda feel the same^^
I am a scientist and I might have the right solution for you: fuel cells. By creating hydrogen sustainably
via microorganism(read my hydrogen farting bacteria post) we would be able to use electric cars just like normal cars. These cars already exist, but hydrogen production is expensive and not clean at all. I don't know when I will buy a car but I know when I buy one it will be an electric one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59007.49
ETH 2658.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44