You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "We Live in a Society" - Sociology vs Armchair Ramblings About Society

in #science5 years ago

Wow! What an interesting reading. Several things have caught my attention. I had never heard or read the following:

According to French sociologist Pierre Bourdieu, academics have this special privilege of being divorced from necessity.

Honestly it seems very true. Academics can be immersed in reality but apart from necessity. It is debatable but very true.

On the other hand, you ask a series of questions at the end that make me reflect. However, it made me laugh:

They get themselves into the habit of questioning why they think they know what they think they know, and continually design investigations to find out.

I have met many sociologists as well!

And the latter is a reckless statement:

dispassion and epistemic humility separate disciplined sociology from armchair ramblings about society.

I think you are too rude to all sociologists. Or is it just about Bourdieu's way of seeing?
It has been a great pleasure to have read. Regards @coty-reh

Sort:  

Hey, thank you for reading! I'm glad you got something out of it.

As for your last statement, I don't know for sure if Bourdieu agrees with what I said. It's my statement, and you're sort of right in that I'm holding what counts as sociology to a high standard. I know that many sociologists will disagree with my statement that they need to be dispassionate and I expect to get a little push back for it. I will post part two of this essay tomorrow and it will defend my view about that a little more.

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59099.74
ETH 2639.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49