You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mice, fluorescent cells and my molecular quest to fight cancer: A day in the life of a rocker scientist

in #science7 years ago

No worries, I am in no need of details. =) However, if the photos you are posting are really of you, then, Steemit people in Berlin could possibly identify you on the street. BTW, Berlin rocks! =)
I was just curious as it appears the study of epigenetics appeared to have made waves in the genetic science. It is then interesting when then when considering, the scientific articles I have thus far read, the science of genetics holds that genes are for more responsive, or adaptive to environmental factors, rather than a deterministic jail cell that we are born into.
I have also read much lately that cannabis can play a role in the treatment of cancer. What is your take on that?
Cheers.

Sort:  

Definitely, let's say that your genetic material is like a recipe book, but how such recipes are interpreted, combined and modified to create a final product depends on the training of the chef, the occasion, and circumstances at a given time, the resources available, etc. The indications on the genotype are not set on stone, they are flexible to a degree.

Honestly, I don't know a lot about cannabis used for cancer treatment. I am afraid that my time and attention is mostly focused on the compounds and treatments that pertain my project (which is not necessarily a good thing!), as well as other widely used therapies.

About the anonymity (or lack of thereof): as it can be deduced from the amount of photos of myself and other random identifying details I have posted, I am not exactly trying to be incognito, but I don't want to directly link my academic activities to my Steemit profile, at least not yet. I have nothing to hide, but my instincts tell me it is better this way.

Is your work bound up with a producing a pharmaceutical product, or are you purely research based?

If a purely natural remedy (non-industrially processed) cure was proven to cure cancer, does that put you out of a job?

My profile I present on here is all related to my art or creativity. My personal life remains offline. ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63348.66
ETH 2668.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78