Sort:  

I am not sure to get the comment. If you can provide more details, maybe I can try to provide an answer :)

I think he means; is we keep finding things smaller and smaller as our ability to see them gets better. He is wondering if there is an end, like the smallest thing fathomable or if we keep finding things inside of things inside of smaller things and smaller forever.

@lennstar is that what u mean?

All the particles in the Standard Model are elementary, which means that they do not have any substructure. Moreover, quantum mechanics connects the uncertainties on positions (related to sizes) and momenta (related to energies). This means that we have some practical limitations here: having a physical state with a very precisely defined small size means that we are loosing control on the rest.

I hope this gives an answer, at least partially :)

basically. I also did not mean it in a strictly science way. Of course there has to be an end somewhere. It is just that once we thought the atom is the smallest thing. Then we thought the electron. Then... so where does this end? We will probably need two more millenias to find out.

Ah I see. Check my answer to @rafaelzauner. This should answer your question... and the answer is: "we don't know" :)

Which is why particle physics is exciting those days (at least for me)!

Not only for you!
I am currently running about 40 work units from LHC@home and 10 more from vLHC on my computers.

that's great! Thanks for contributing to our field :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55885.64
ETH 2358.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31