You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: When the Rhinoceros Roamed

in #science6 years ago

Paleontology has always been one of my favorite branches of science, vertebrate paleontology, particularly.

I've known about those examples of our country's prehistoric mammalian fauna, but did not get much into them because they were not as "cool" as the dinosaurs and other ancient reptiles. Hahaha!

Coming from a STEM/military/artistic family, people thought I'd either become a biologist or other type of scientist (Mom is a chemist) or engineer, or pursue a career in the military.

But the movie Jurassic Park changed all that in an instant, and I got steered into an animation career instead, after seeing that movie.

As a kid, my art talent and skills were mostly used to depict my love for science and technology, and now, as an animator, I get to do the same and get paid for it too.

And when all my freelance animation tasks are done, I am going to stop working for a while and leverage all this knowledge and write STEM-oriented articles, complete with my own illustrations.

It really pays to be a geek or nerd in here. A female friend and fellow geeky artist was surprised to learn that prehistoric elephants (Stegodon) lived here before. So, I'll oblige and surprise her someday with a 3D model of a stegodon and post it here.

I agree with you that there are more prehistoric specimens to be discovered. This discovery surely fired up the curiosity of many paleontologists to dig deeper into older strata to look at what could be buried there.

But, sorry kids, our scientists cannot dig deep enough to look for dinosaurs, as the Philippines didn't even exist yet at the time the dinosaurs dominated the Earth.

Sort:  

You are quite an interesting fella. We are all destined to our own greatness and happiness. I'm glad you pursued your passion with animation and at the same adapt prehistoric animals with it. You have so much to offer to the community will look forward to your work. The best of luck to you my friend.

Who knows we might have a sabre tooth tiger somewhere

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87