You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Plastic Is Destroying The Eco-Systems - Let's Use Hemp, Glass & Paper Packaging!

in #science6 years ago

Packaging waste needs to be made the responsibility of the companies that profit from the product, I think. They need to be made to take it back. Then true recycling/reusing might happen.

I was impressed by a program I saw years ago in Denmark where you could return almost all of your grocery recycling to automated machines outside the grocery store and get credit for your next purchase. At least, that is what I remember. Maybe someone from Denmark can tell us if that still happens?

Great subject!

Sort:  

Everyone has the responsibility to do whatever they can not to support those who produce products that cause such problems - I did do that fully for a number of years but eventually I reached the point where I could not avoid buying things that used a lot of plastic. I always favour enlightenment over control by governments.

I agree. Responsibility also comes back to us and our purchasing decisions, but as you point out, it can be very difficult to always avoid it. I do think that growing our food and encouraging self sufficiency is the way to go, but certainly not something that everyone is going to embrace right away. Unfortunately, I can't help but think if we rely on consumers to 'just say no', even when educated, there will be little change. Great discussion!

Resteemed. : )

The more people that become self sufficient, the more evidence there will be of the value of doing so and I am confident it will not be long before it can be shown that the groups that do this have higher levels of health, wealth and enjoyment of life. There are those among us who actually don't even want life at all and it might certainly be difficult for them to be motivated to change - part of what is needed is to make organic growing cheaper to produce and that also takes awareness and intention to do so. Many people don't even know there are effective organic alternatives to synthetic fertiliser, for example - as amazing as that may be!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61059.95
ETH 2677.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61