You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: This is the Single Best Evidence Flat Earthers Have, and it Still Proves the Earth is a Sphere

in #science6 years ago (edited)

You have seen the curve thousands of times in your life.

Ever climbed a hill to see further? That is the curve. See my article on it here.

https://steemit.com/science/@kerriknox/proving-the-curvature-of-the-earth-yourself-with-nothing-but-a-ladder

Ever been on a boat and seen the horizon do a 360 circle around you? That is the curve.

Ever seen the horizon at the beach? That is the curve. Ever seen a boat disappear behind that horizon? That is the curve.

Ever watched a sunset on the ground then jumped up and watched the sunset again? That is the curve.

And when you say that you think you should see the curve what do you THINK you should be seeing, and then please provide the math and diagrams to support your belief.

As I mention in my article on buildings leaning, one of the major problems of the flat earth movement is erroneous expectations. You keep arguing that you 'think' you should see something, but don't give any reasons why you think you should!

I even outline the math on why we shouldn't be seeing the curvature in this article.

https://steemit.com/science/@kerriknox/if-the-earth-is-a-sphere-why-does-it-look-so-flat

It would be extremely educational and helpful for everyone, you and for people having a discussion with you, if you actually did the math, did the diagrams, and explained WHY you think you should see something you are not seeing. If you are not 'into math', then I'm not sure how you determined why you think you should be seeing anything in particular other than just a wild guess.

If I say that I 'think' I should be able to drive from Los Angeles to New Orleans in 5 hours, then declare a conspiracy when I'm unable to accomplish this, that would be nonsense. I simply had incorrect expectations. If I'd have done the math before creating an expectation, then I would have had an educated assessment of how long it would take. Without that, I'm just being ridiculous, not educated and intelligent, thinking it should only take 5 hours and that there was a conspiracy.

I've provided tons of visuals on these topics in my articles.

Sort:  

denver to prarie view.PNG

This is the horizon 100 miles from the mountains and 150 along them. This is from The Rockies through Denver to the prairie, and it looks just like this for many hundreds of miles north to south. I used to live there and saw a few hundred miles of it at least and it never changes. Are you saying:

  • you see a curve in this photo north/south or east /west?
  • there is no curve here?
  • saying the curve is in the photo but not discernible?
  • something else?

Even though it looks like the prairie is rising - it's really not. They measure it to sea level somehow and it barely changes until you get past Kansas.

How does the sea level measurement work in your idea? Do you have that already discussed in another post?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61511.66
ETH 2989.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63