Sort:  

Indeed. The apt term I've come to learn is called "Predictive Programming"
Predictive programming has been used throughout time as psychological conditioning to aquint the public to planned changes. So if and when these changes occur, the public will already be familiarized with them and will accept them as natural progressions.

Thanks for commenting.

Also on that subconscious guiding role within Science fiction, I think it's a real shame that the future is always either depicted as a utopian/dystopian hyper-technological world with very little interaction between humans and the natural world... or the complete opposite with society having fallen apart and nature being a ravaging force to struggle against. Science fiction rarely seems to depict a nice healthy middle of the line where humans are moderately using technology to overcome important challenges facing humanity but also maintaining a healthy grounded interaction with the natural world.

Yes, sometimes I feel a bit concerned when I notice certain recurring trends in sci fi films! Recently I've noticed a lot of films depicting contact with extra terrestrials and humanity having to form a one world government solution in order to be able to deal with the threat (specifically the second independence day film and arrival)... feels like grooming for acceptance of a one-world government which I don't quite fancy.

Well said. I don't like it either. In fact because of it, I don't watch much tv and practically zero movies these days.

I have a constant inner critical analysis going through my head when I watch most films/tV series! Avoid actual tv like the plague!

I'm the same. my wife gets annoyed when we're watching a show and I'm pointing out all the agendas being pushed lol. I try to keep it to myself most of the time though.

Yes- it can get a bit overboard. Of course might all be genuine chaotic muppetness as well.

I haven't seen the second Independence Day film, but I did see an interesting exposé on how it was one of those co-operations with the US military projects, such that it even led to recruitment...

I watched it and a little bit of sick came into my mouth a few times during it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60402.59
ETH 3346.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42