Science Lesson: DNA (Table of Contents)

in #science8 years ago (edited)

Please do not vote. This post exists to serve as a table of contents for reference to the background posts in the Science Lesson: DNA series of blogs.

Table of Contents:

Part 1: The Basics of DNA

Here we discussed a bit about what DNA is, the molecule itself and an overview of what its use is in the cell.

Part 2: DNA Replication

Here we went into a bit more detail about the protein mechanisms by which a new copy of DNA gets created

Part 3: Protein Expression

Here we took things a step further and went into some of the details about how information is extracted from DNA and is turned into the functional component of the cell known as a protein.

Part 4: DNA Damage

Here we returned to our discussion of DNA itself, learned a bit about what DNA damage means and went through a few examples of types of damage. We also discussed what changes those damages can cause on newly generated DNA and the cell.

Part 5: DNA Damage Repair

In this final background post we expanded on the the discussion of Part 4 and learned about some of the ways the cell goes about repairing those damages. We also discussed some of the consequences of those repair processes.



If you like my work, please consider giving me a follow:

Steemit.com/@justtryme90 / Steemit.com/@justtryme90
, I am a PhD holding biochemist with a love for science. My future science blog posts will cover a range of topics in the biology/chemistry fields.

Verification of Degree

Thank you for your support of my work!

Sort:  

Nice body of work that you're putting up! Thanks for doing this :)
Btw there's a slight error - the bloglink above your verification of degree somehow turned out to include some redundancies in the link url - https://steemit.com/science/@justtryme90/Steemit.com/@justtryme90

Thanks for pointing that out. Copy paste error. That I can now no longer fix. :(

Lol I think, "do not upvote" might be a great strategy in the future.

But but... I really wanna vote for this. You're building an MIT open courseware like body of information, free for anyone that wants to learn. You're exactly who should be upvoted haha. I will instead go through and make sure I've upvoted all the rest, as you request

I know you said "please do not vote"...but I don't have as good of self-control as @prufarchy and couldn't resist. You are doing amazing work, creating open-source learning on Steemit!

I'm voting because you told me not to vote. Plus, your content looks great. Get the reward while you can, you earned it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69450.75
ETH 3678.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81