Verify Your Degree #proofofdegree A New Tag For Verification of Advanced Degrees

in #proofofdegree8 years ago (edited)

This post has been modified after a discussion with @business

Many people on steemit make claim to possess advanced degrees (myself included). They generate blogs with detailed, in depth analysis of high level topics. The STEEM blockchain and steemit platform offer us the unique opportunity to provide permanent evidence of the possession of an advanced degree for any poster. This sort of verification may serve as a sort of piece of mind to users reading high level content, that the information being passed along is coming from someone who is accredited at being an expert in their field (whether that accreditation is a Bachelors, M.S., Ph.D., M.D., P.Ed. etc...)

I offer to you verification of my own Biochemistry Ph.D.:

Discretion of provided information is essential to prevent any sort of fraudulent activities. Thus on my diploma I have redacted name, any and all signatories names and signatures, as well as date upon which the degree was bestowed.
Other than the redacted information no other aspect of the image has been modified. A hand drawn note has been provided to provide authenticity to the document (it's actually in my possession!).

I encourage all other holders of advanced degrees to join me in verification of their own qualifications. Let us all together continue to work to provide great content to steemit, and serve as a source for the advancement of the knowledge of all who read our blogs.

Sort:  

I think your ability to construct a logical well reasoned argument, supported by appropriate peer reviewed research is a better way of discerning the truth than reverence for qualifications.

Let's remember that Jobs and Gates were dropouts. Are you using a PC or a MAC?

I've met plenty of idiots with a PhD. Using your degree to win an argument is inverse adhominem at best and quite frankly it's lazy.

I would not be comfortable putting a degree up here. You are asking for fraud and risking ruining the reputation of the institution who granted you the qualification.

Steemit is not a meeting room in a laboratory; it is a colosseum full of savages.

Is it your suggestion I take it down? In what way could someone possibly commit fradulent activity with a grainy photo of a degree with redacted names. Everyone knows what diplomas look like, the picture just serves as validation that I have one.

I am not arguing that quality posting, informative dialogue, appropriate analysis, or anything is not possible for a non degree holding person. Nor am I arguing for any sort of superiority for degree holders, however they are accredited as being experts in their fields.

In case you want to reply to me (I hate the 5 comment nesting limit).

You should ask an expert.

If I wanted to I could find your thesis, using the date on your PhD and your Institution as a filter.

Then I'd have your name and a rough photograph of your PhD.

How hard would it then be to order a replacement? Or find you on linkedin?

How hard would it be to find your workplace?

I wonder what sort of chemicals I could order with a PhD in chemistry and a professors phone line?

No phone line? How 'bout I order Chinese factory to send synthetic RNA for anthrax, a PCR machine and a yeast vector to your home address using an American proxy server?

I hear Guantanamo bay is beautiful this time of year.

Do you want to sleep with that can of worms open?

There are a lot of intelligent people on here with a wide spectrum of morality, do not underestimate the power of information.

You didn't creep me out, or scare me :). You did however make some good points and I respect a well handled argument. I have put the post back up but made additional modifications. Perhaps it can serve as a template for any other holder that wishes to provide some level of verification of their own qualifications.

I don't want to creep you out either, but the block chain never forgets:
https://steemd.com/tx/4e72cae75fa3ecca2e873d7d136223d01dbbca43

You can see every edit of a post, so editing doesn't really cover it up, sorry.

Fine, Point made.

Anthrax is an organism you could not synthesize it (I certainly don't have the clearances to order it either). I don't know what anyone would do with yeast, a plasmid and a PCR machine.

All this aside, I would say there is still very little anyone could do with that information. If someone really wanted they could do what ever to me anyway. I will abide by your better safe than sorry idea though.

Why not keep the post up? Just obfuscate your information a little better.

In your case, it's pretty unlikely anything is going to happen. But if this became general practice, it's possible opportunity might eventually meet malice.

I didn't mean to creep you out, or scare you. I think this is an interesting discussion.

I certainly harbour no ill will. I studied molecular biology, and I think you'd be suprised what you can actually get away with.

Scientists have a lot more power than people realise, we are lucky most of them are good people!

I think it's a valid idea and a good discussion.

I think when it comes to opinions, an expert should be given more weight than a layperson. I just think a more secure method of verification than posting a photo of your degree would be wise.

Why require any form of verification then?

It's not required. Voluntarily providing validation serves only as a means to provide some additional evidence of knowledgeably.

I should have specified--the question was for @business. I was once asked to post a photo of myself holding a sign for verification purposes.

I'm just going to second @justtryme90 in certain contexts proof of expertise could add value to a post; for example if interested parties were wanting to make important decisions based on the opinion of a poster.

Interesting idea that you have here. I would have no problem getting it verified behind doors, be it at steemit.chat or else where but not publicly like this.
I have a similar concern that some trending posts in steemit are actually written by people who are non-experts in that area. And of course, i usually would write my comments from an expert pov. (I am a Phd dropout but i still have my masters degree in environmental management) But of course, over here, when you give comments like this, some people would feel offended. But i think it will be a good way if experts from outside of steemit can somehow endorse certain posts that are of expert scientific level. but again, i am nobody here so....

That is also something I am feeling uncomfortable with. Some posts are written by non experts, sharing wrong facts, attacking sometimes well-recognized scientists, etc. I do not want to downvote these posts as everybody has the right to say what they want (but I will not upvote them neither).

Then it is hard to decide what to do: ignore or commenting (as this will make the post more visible and it is very likely not many people will read the comment). I do not know what is better.

Similar opinion. Usually, i will comment. Commenting will not make the post more visible. Upvoting does. But again, they will usually rebut with a childplay answer and i just do not feel like replying because it is not productive.

Indeed. We are ending with attacks on people instead of scientific facts and proofs.

PS: thanks for the tips with the comments. I didn't know that

Hi,

I personally will not show any copy of my degree on steemit (or on any social media). That is personal I am avoiding to put too much personal stuff on the web, including pictures.

As already stated through some of the other answers, it is probably possible to confirm that I am who I state I am through my answers to the different posts that I am commenting. This should be sufficient, shouldn't it?

Also, I decided to join steemit first for having fun in sharing scientific facts related to particle physics with everybody else. With this respect, I am confident that showing my title would be counterproductive (my ego is already fine as it is :p )

Cheers,

B>

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66015.85
ETH 3551.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.13