You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Designer Babies or Create your own child, cure genetic diseases, Cancer...the future? It is close, too close...

in #science8 years ago (edited)

I wrote a post on CRISPR a while back. It's a very interesting technology, however lets not get too carried away with what we can currently do with it.

Sort:  

too carried away with what we can currently do with it.

No offense, this makes me think that you don't understand this technology?

I have used Cas9, so I am pretty familiar with the technology.

Interesting... anyways, please re-read the post and watch the video that's supposed to be watched... You seem to misunderstand the post somehow.... :))

I don't misunderstand the post at all. :) My statement was more of a semantical one, this technology holds great promise. In practice though, more work needs to be done. On the bright side, I know of quite a few very interesting projects going on pertaining to CRISPR and Cas9 currently.

however lets not get too carried away with what we can currently do with it.

You seem to misunderstand, I'm not saying we can "fix" people now.....nor getting carried away what we can do currently with it. The post clearly states at what stage, CRISPR is right now and what the future might bring, if you like join the discussion and state your opinion on the morality of it, like the scientists did back in December...I'd be glad to hear your input on this.

I am all for gene editing to correct debilitating diseases. I do not personally think people should be able to edit the genomes of their children for cosmetic reasons (biologically speaking). These sorts of things bring out the question, what does it mean to be human?

Exactly, I'm also against "cosmetic" changes and yes they do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62983.95
ETH 2962.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58