You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: NSAIDs Like Ibuprofen May Significantly Increase Your Chance Of A Heart Attack

in #science7 years ago

I discovered you blog when I saw your generous vote on mine. Congrats - you have a new follower! I am told people like those.

I wish more people were informed about simple over the counter meds. My brother is dying because his liver is shot. He is an alcoholic and you can probably figure out what happened. We were raised with Tylenol in the house because that is what they gave you in hospitals. It can't be said enough:

"if you take this one you likely want to avoid any
consumption of alcohol as the combination of
the two can lead to severe liver and kidney damage"

I was never told that about Tylenol when growing up.

Sort:  

Tylenol is a a wonderful painkiller, and quite safe to take AFIK even in large does. Unfortunately the combination of it and moderate doses of alcohol simultaneously leads to liver and kidney damage. I honestly only discussed tylenol in this blog as I wanted to provide an example that when you hear about the potential dangers of NSAIDs, the alternatives also have their own set of potential complications.

In life and in medicine there certainly appears to be no such thing as a free lunch. Every compound we ingest has pluses and minuses to it.

I am sorry to hear about your brother! :(

Thank you for reading.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64724.35
ETH 3436.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55