SOLAR ECLIPSE: My Do-It-Yourself Pinhole camera WORKED!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #science7 years ago (edited)

I hope everyone has gotten a chance to see the moon cover the sun! As I type, it's still going on for another half hour or so. Very cool.

Here in NJ we got 70% coverage. We also had mostly a clear sky, but there was a bit of thin cloud cover at times, which turned out to be lucky because I was able to catch a direct camera shot.

Here is the close-up of the camera shot through a light veil of clouds:
eclipse 4.jpg

and here it is without zoom - it's a smidge more clearly focused:
eclipse 3.JPG

So I bet you're all wondering, How did gardenlady's pinhole paper work?

It worked great!

But first I have to say that the foil was ridiculous...I just couldn't get a perfectly round hole even after 5 tries. I ended up just poking the paper clip end right through my paper, luckily the small hole was perfectly round.

Here is my paper that I made for my demonstration in my last post...You can see all the holes LOL!
The hole on the upper right turned out to be the winner
eclipse 2.JPG

SO, I held the paper up with my right hand above my head so that it's shadow fell on the white woodwork between two windows. With my iphone 6+ camera in my left hand...click!

You'll notice that the image is reversed from what you see if you looked straight on like in the first photos. And, I have to say, the oddly shaped holes weren't such losers as I had thought :-)
eclipse 5.JPG

So I hope everyone in the US near or in the line of the eclipse had a chance to check out the eclipse. Science, sun and moon in action. A nice dose of reality :-)

Now...back to gardening!

-gardenlady

Sort:  

Such an amazing phenomenon with multiple pinholes! We saw the same effect with tree leaves clustered together :)

this is amazing! Because I got similar shots here in Denver by just photographing leaf shadows on the ground... so fascinating

the leaf shadow thing is so cool! I can't believe I didn't realize to look for that!

glad it works!
when we were young my Nana used to take a basin out and fill it water - then we get to view the eclipse in the reflection in the water.

cool idea!

Who knows what to do in an eclipse when it's only a few min every 40 yrs

Wow that is absolutely amazing that it worked.
I don't live in the US but I watched a live stream and it was absolutely amazing
Well I'm glad that you had such a great time. Enjoy gardening @gardenlady! :)

It's great! Thanks for sharing these photos) resteem😊

It looks really good with the clouds actually!

thanks meesterboom! I worried for a second about burning my retinas...lol? but I think I'm okay :-)

For the last one here desire all my precautions I kept checking it with the naked eye and it hurt!!

I watched the live stream :) But thanks for posting a self-made photo because I was wondering what it looked like for regular people with regular cameras instead of NASA equipment ;)

it was pretty neat to see. i live in south texas and we only had 61% coverage.. interesting to see though! 2024 here we come...

great but the real eclipse is the eclipse of the Bitcoin.

Image

I remember making these in school. I watched a bit of it too.

Wonderful! I'm gonna try this!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87