You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 5 Insane Things Flat Earthers Believe (Besides Just Believing in a Flat Earth)

in #science7 years ago

Awesome post man! I'll start sending the flat-earthers who tend to show up in the comments on my posts your way in the future :'D

Sort:  

Absolutely. I've followed you and I'll check out your posts in the future.

That's great to hear. I must say I was taken by surprise by how many flat-earthers found their way to this corner of the internet. So with my introduction post I got spammed to the ground by quite a lot of them who then also became a mob on my following posts...

But although it's disappointing to see that such backwards beliefs still exist in 2017, it's a bit entertaining too ;)

Following you back as well. Although I've more or less decided to flat out ignore this topic (pun intended) as it just seems to dumb me down every time I need to seriously read up on their claims and produce a counter argument.

@fredrikaa Your introduction post was very entertaining, to say the least. I think you handled it really well and with stoic professionalism and patience.

I just decided I'd make some money from them. It's fun as hell debunking them now! I got the idea for this post in the middle of the night fully formed and had to get up and write it and create all the images all in one go while I was laughing myself silly.

I guess one man's pain is another man's pleasure ;)

But seriously, too, I think there are too few people with sense and scientific knowledge out there doing any debunking or explaining the science well, and there are a lot of people looking into this that might be swayed to not go into the cult if they could get some good alternate information.

So, I'm hoping to do so contests and things to create a 'project' of flat earth debunkers and science writers, so we can crowdsource good rebuttals and articles and even pictures, that make it worth the while of people that have intimate knowledge of particular subjects that might not have thought about writing any debunk or explanation articles on the topic because it seems so ridiculous.

But while I'm making money, I really hope that a project of good, easy to understand science on the topic might take shape, and we can at least sway a few people who are on the fence and just need to understand the science a bit better.

Yes, I also started collecting all the memes, youtube videos, and proclaimed "evidence for a flat earth", that they keep on spamming in their posts believing they've delivered a strong case for their positions, with the intention of doing a series of smack-downs at one point.

So perhaps I should wait for your competition then instead of making a series ;P

And yes. I also noticed that when I took them on, I just got increased traffic by people wanting to enjoy the spectacle, and got some decent upvotes on my comments + a more regular following. So it works out ;)

I was checking out some of your others posts (and upvoted and resteemed) and wasnt' sure if I should post on your post or not, since it might invite Flat earthers to argue, but I would love to see an article on how and why you are 100% sure that there are satellites and that they are in orbit above the earth.

I think those kinds of pieces would be really educational.

If you do any types of those posts, about how you know certain things about the earth or how people can check for themselves (perhaps taking pictures of the cloud formations above their house on a day when the satellite will be over them and how to compare that to the raw satellite data?).

if so, I'd be happy to coordinate and do some sort of flat earth article that would be complimentary and work your piece into my article (as well as resteeming it and posting it to Facebook) to give you more exposure.

I'm really keen to get that kind of info out there. Not sure if you want the shitstorm of flat earthers coming to your page, though!

Oh, thanks for that. :)
I'm always up for a fight. As long as there's something in it for me and I'm not just spending time and energy feeding internet trolls.

I'll have something of the sort coming up. I can't promise you when, but the essence of such a post is there in my future posts folder :P

Will make sure to keep in touch. Are you on steemit.chat or something similar? Or I guess I'll just comment on one of your posts. Anyhow. All collective work to mutually benefit good science-writers on steemit is something I'll gladly support, and your help and support too is much apprecaited.

Hah, no need to wait. Make a series! I'm also hoping to compile a really good list of arguments for people to use to do debunks. I wish that Steemit had an edit feature, as I'd put up the article now and keep adding to it. But that doesn't make sense on Steemit. YOu have to do a 'Complete List of The Best Flat Earth Debunks' after you have the list complete and not make it a work in process.

that's my one complaint about Steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61123.08
ETH 2628.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46