From NASA to Steemit – Introducing me and my space adventure!

Hello Steemit!
My name is Fredrik Aarrestad, a recently graduated economist from Norway currently working as a Young Graduate Trainee for the European Space Agency. I am also the co-founder of Spaceport Norway, and working in my spare time to help create and support new initiatives related to space-based innovation and education. I also had the experience of my life staying a full summer at the NASA Kennedy Space Center in Florida as part of the International Space University.

I will share more of that incredible time in upcoming posts! Below you can see me in front of the "VAB" (Vehicle Assembly Building) where NASA rockets are prepared before launch. Here I got to see two launches during my stay!
rsz_nasa_ksc.png
2012: Me at the NASA Kennedy Space Center

For a long time, I have wanted to blog my space adventure. I would love to share the experiences I have had from meeting more than 25 astronauts and working with people from all the world's space agencies. As well as sharing the excitement I have for exploration in an age where new barriers are broken every month by new companies such as SpaceX. Furthermore, it is a dream of mine to help reignite an Apollo era level of enthusiasm for space exploration! I have therefore been trying to do outreach whenever possible. Whether it be visiting schools to give lectures about space, or giving presentations at conferences and other events.

fred esa.jpg
2016: Me at the European Space Agency Headquarters in Paris where I currently go to work

While the idea of building a blog has been attractive, I have often felt discouraged by a number of reasons. How much effort will I have to put in to build a website that is good enough? Will I end up investing a lot of time only for nobody to read my blog? It was here that I finally came across the steemit platform! I sincerely hope that the steemit platform can allow me to do what I love, and share my passion for everything related to space, science, technology, innovation, entrepreneurship, and education. As I intend to grow my presence here I have just transferred the weekly coinbase limit worth of STEEM to my account. I hope to continue increasing my STEEM Power and to vote up those who want to be part of my journey. 😊

From the bottom of my heart, I want to say that I am very grateful for every follow and every upvote. I view this as my attempt to do something I believe to be important, and thus every bit of support is truly appreciated. I truly believe the Steemit platform can be huge in incentivising more people to share quality content and inspire others. Therefore, I also hope to be of value to the growing steemit community and to be able, over time, to attract more people to the platform and contribute with quality content.

Thanks for listening this far! I will make sure to follow back and upvote as much as I can!

Fredrik / @fredrikaa
SPN17MEG.jpg
2017: Me at Spaceport Norway, a Space conference and exhibition I helped co-found

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit, great to have you here. I am looking forward to contributing to the advancement of space travel over the coming years. I believe we need to focus more on space / exploring new worlds vs fighting here on earth. The first step to changing this is : Money. Blockchains will free the world from the evils of fiat money so we then can focus on bigger and more important things as a human race.

Thank you! I could not possibly agree more, and look forward to having you onboard :)

Indeed Blockchain will be huge. Space provides small benefits to all of humanity (from satellite applications to scientific advancements), and also is the greatest collective endeavour we will ever set upon! So yes, blockchain can enable all of us to collectively play our part in a "NewSpace" generation which will go way beyond what only governmets have been able to do in the past.

I have just given you a follow and hope to exchange much, much more in the future.

Nice Appreciation , Good Work!

@thejohalfiles I'd share your sentiment if Space was real, but it's not. it's nothing more than CGI & greenscreens:


Not seen any Space footage from NASA or ESA that wasn't a sci-fi production.
Either they're feeding us crap to keep us in the dark, or simply there's still no way to leave the Dome and the Earth is indeed Flat.

Lolz, I knew I wouldn't have to scroll far to find one of these comments. I believe Dawkins refers to you and your kind as; yapping terriers of ignorance. :-D

Cg

So, you didn't even bother to watch NASA's own video fails? Seems like "condemnation before investigation" to me. Better question: Have YOU ever been to space? I didn't think so.

Maybe follow your own advice, rather than handing it out like so much candy: quit enjoying the comfort of your own opinion without applying any thought to what all of these problems with NASA's videos are really all about. Steem On!

Better question: Have YOU ever been to space? I didn't think so.

This is classic reductionist thinking, I have also never been in a Formula One car, or a fighter jet, yet I know it's possible to travel at those speeds.

In the same way that I've never been to space, yet I know the earth is not flat. The fact that there is day and night at different times. Or the fact that I can see two sunsets, by lying down on a beach and then standing up at the right time.

Or the fact that there are no other disc planets in our solar system, or any one of a multitude of things that tell me that the earth is definitely not flat. If you want to carry on believing idiotic things like that, until you personally go into space, then I certainly can't stop you.

Steem on and prosper :-)

Cg

Just do three easy things. Google "NASAS official earth image 2012" then the same for 2013. Compare them. View both on the NASA official website.

Thanks for taking the time...now I feel like an ass. I was thinking in 2D like a flat earther. LOL.

OK, I humoured you, I did what you asked; now, what was I meant to see?

Cg

Never mind...just me being foolish.

@thejohalfiles space is not real, please please research Flat Earth here is a list of good Flat Earthers on youtube:

Eric Dubay
Jeranism
Flat Earth Asshole
ODD
Jenna Fredo

NASA FREDRIK.png

This brings us to question is there any alt-coin that is based on research for space travel. If there is one I think it would make a lot of sense. Everybody who thinks space travel can be viable in near future can invest in that coin

@gokulnk @thejohalfiles
Got a friend who is building an investment platform for people who want to save for their future Space travel, while investing in space companies that are building the commercial infrastructure needed to support such progress.

The company (still a StartUp) is called Space Vault maybe I should interview him for a steemit blog post in the near future :)

Thanks for the inspiration which gave me the idea! (No idea if he has thought about building it on a Blockchain, I could discuss that with him)

Space if fake = any coin related to space travel must be a scam!!!

I am so ready for Blockchains to rid us of the evil grasp of Debt Money...Fiat currencies are placing us all into slavery and the majority of people don't even know it.

I invite Hon. @thejohalfiles to visit my poor blog and upvotes if you like some photo, give me some comment to improve my blog, thank you for your support

Do you mean? "illegal" aliens - Donald Trump

If there would be more people like you out there, the world would be a better place...

I totally agree to you that blockhain will be a bigger thing in future.

Sure blockchain is great... but dude earth is flat, this guy need to be ridiculed.

If you loves to the steemians then vote them, they will return to you ! its blockchain

Yeah right, explore freely !

Hi Fredrik and welcome to the steemit family! What a fantastic job you have? I have also visited Kennedy Space Centre. In 2010 I was there for a scheduled launch of the Space Shuttle but because of high winds this launch was delayed and the shuttle kept in its hangar. Then Eyjafjallajökull erupted and closed the whole of European Airspace for a week - this meant that our time in Florida was extended by 48 hours so we saw a Space X rocket launch - very cool consolation prize! Looking forward to your blog on the space industry - an interest of mine too! Upvoted and following you.

Thank you @greenstar !
I have followed you too and hope we can mutually benefit from our presence here and share a part of the journey!

I indeed love my job. It is great to have found a place where you look forward to going to work in the morning, and are learning things that I would have wanted to learn in my spare time anyways. :)

Glad you got to see a SpaceX launch! Kennedy is such an historic place. I even got to launch my own student-rocket from the Launchpad 39A (used for most Shuttle and Apollo missions) while I was there! Will make sure to do a blog post on that later this summer when I will have a 5 year anniversary of that memorable day.

A friend of mine is also currently at Kennedy Space Center to test a prototype of his new Sea-launch rocket. So getting pictures and stories from there every week :D

I look very much forward to blogging on this topic, and am very grateful for your support! Tell me if you have related posts that I can support or resteem and I'll make sure to support you when I can. Followed and upvoted back!

Wow - so nice to be doing something for a living that you are passionate about - it will never feel like work - hold onto that! I will never forget standing next to the Saturn rocket and feeling like an ant - it was huge. I think the public's interest has lessened since the wind up of the shuttle program and nothing has yet filled its place - we need industry to pick up the baton from where big government left off...

How far did your student rocket go up?

I look forward to the blog of the new Sea-launch rocket.

Our rocket didn't go very far. We just had the challenge of bringing a raw egg and a 0.5kg crystal to a height as close to 1000 feet as possible, with a total flight duration as possible to 50 seconds. The egg would have to stay whole, so we had to figure out a way to ensure the rocket would split up after reaching target altitude, and release a parachute that would make a soft landing. And to make sure that the whole cycle could be done as close as possible to the target duration from launch till touchdown.

Our rocket went up ~725 feet (due to windly conditions we had to launch it a mit more sideways, reducing the height). I was just happy that our rocket made it, and that the egg was whole at the landing :D

That's a pretty good result - very well done - is there any footage?

Thanks! Yes, I was very happy about it. Especially as I had no hands on experience with rockets, and was doing something completely new and out of my comfort-zone. There is a video of the launch but I am going to post a blog dedicated to that event, and what I learned from it, when I have a 5 year anniversary of the day in roughly 1 week from now :)

Anyways here is a full group photo we took with the International Space University participants in front of the Launchpad 39A. (You may recognise it from the recent SpaceX launches). I'm the one holding the pink rocket :D

616807_10151112370266550_1765483217_o.jpg

What a fantastic momento of your achievement - really look forward to the blog at the 5 year anniversary!

That's a good question, here are some real footage :

real ballone no curve.png

3d math shows curve 1.png

Earth is flat = Space is fake and NASA/ESA have never been to space and will never go.

rock on welcome

Thank you marco!

I am ready to rock indeed! A fellow Norwegian Space colleague made an awesome presentation called Astro-Rock presenting all the great rock hits over the years that have been inspired by space. I think you just gave me an idea for a post I can share in the future ;)

Welcome to steemit. Hope you'll enjoy here and share your experiences. I'm also a newcomer here.

Welcome to steemit. I hope you will have a great time here :D

Hello Sara / @inuk
Thank you for the warm welcome! It is great to see some fellow Scandinavians on board ;)

I have often wanted to do a lifestyle blog myself as I have often given others advice on how to combine a busy life with a healthy one. It takes some extra determination to go work out 5 times per week, and stick to a regular healthy diet, when you also work 24/7! But the secret lies in building strong and lasting habits, and setting short-term achievable goals!

Maybe I should add a few blog posts on this topic as I look to start blogging here, although the general focus will primarily be on my work. Perhaps we could stay in touch :)

Upvoted you and followed you back! Hope we can mutually benefit from being on this platform!

Fredrik

Welcome to Steemit Fredrick! We are lucky to have someone with your experiences here on the platform and look forward to what you have to share! Your story sounds quite fascinating!

Thank you for the kind welcome!

I look very much forward to making steemit my blog platform! I have quite a few stories I look forward to sharing and are lucky to experience new ones almost every day! Hopefully, it can contribute to the goals that you have!

I have also worked on the side with projects aimed to use space (its science, technology, passion and ability to inspire) to improve the quality of and interest in stem education. I even co-wrote a paper at the International Space University named “Space – One giant leap for education”. It was later quoted over 3 pages of Buzz Aldrin’s book “Mission to Mars – My vision for Space Exploration”. Something that I am very proud of.

Please let me know if there is anything at all I can do to help enhance the community that want to improve stem education globally, or improve the community here on steemit. Doing outreach and assist in education (I work with one project on the side to build a summer camp for students and young professionals interested in Space Exploration or Earth Observation technologies. Which I will look to announce later this year)

Also I would be very grateful if you could connect me with others on this platform interested in stem education, and promoting the tem subjects. I would be very interested in supporting their work, or collaborate if possible. So if you can, I would appreciate a resteem, or any introductions to people you may know :)

Welcome my friend...My room mate used to work for NASA.

Welcome, however we know NASA and ESA's Space is just CGI, greenscreens and disinformation. They've been caught out faking stuff time and time again.
a compilation:

here a technical breakdown of how they stage their latest tricks

and Space X and Elon Musk are just more of the same. Jesuit & Freemason deception keeping the Planet in the dark since 500 years

So I'm just hallucinating every day when I go to work and get to work with data that are coming from satellites? :o Damn I wish I had known sooner so me and my ~250 friends working in the sector could stop wasting our time :D

Satellites are a hoax. So if you think they are real and you work with anything related, you are being fooled!

I see it is pointless, even if you come with argumets you will hear the same, you are wrong, flat earth, you liar, freemason(this is a cool perk to have) and all others. Don't want to generalise and to offend anyone, but the educational level of the claimers stops at highschool, all are self taught from youtube and even if you put scientific facts, you are a liar and universities are hoax. Even if you show them on their own photos the curveture, they see there is none.

you're relying on data from high altitude aerostatic balloons, military spy surveillance planes, and high altitude drones. not to mention a lot of the data can be retrieved from triangulations.

I just made a long comment to the Nashhole... I cannot believe that he is actually believing he will go to space??? Earth is flat and space is not real.

Space is fake, the Earth is flat. <3

Ok I have three $1million challenges to you then.

I have been working with satellite data for 5 years as an economist working with optimising economic decision making based on Earth Observing Satellite data.

I have contributed to help shipping companies, Farmers and Foresters save millions of dollars annually by using earth observing satellites that can measure height, temperature, colour, etc, of the Earth's surface anywhere in the World every single week. (Using the data to autonomously guide ships where there is less Ice in the water or lower winds, when to harvest and/or water crops, when to cut trees for optimal harvest cycles etc).

If you can either 1: Disprove that the ESA Copernicus Sentinel 1-3 Satellites exist (I would love that since I spend all my time using their live-updated data, I would really like to stop wasting my time…) or 2. If you can show me a way to retrieve the same data, with the same precision, at the same time schedules, without using satellites, as is used in the case studies found in this link. I will pay you $1m per paper (there are 3). I hope you read them as they provide some very useful information.
PS: They are not written by people who care about NASA or maintaining any “government secrets” but by people who would only benefit if the data actually worked.

All 3 papers:
http://earsc.org/news/copernicus-sentinels-products-economic-value-study

I can send an object up on a helium balloon and have it take pictures as well, I'm not denying that fact.

The fact of the matter is the Earth has never been proven to rotate and no one has ever been able to show 1 iota of evidence denoting curvature.

NASA is a cancerous organization that sucks tax dollars from the American populous.

So

  1. Prove any amount of axial rotation and
  2. Prove any amount of curvature and I`ll tip my hat to you sir.

Also there is a $8,000 challenge open to anyone to prove just that.

Sacred Word Publishing: Open $8250 Flat Earth Challenge to All Globe Earth Believers

https://www.facebook.com/notes/zen-garcia/sacred-word-publishing-fe-2017-the-8250-flat-earth-challenge-to-all-globe-believ/10212183147441968/

You just responded to his challenge by changing the subject. That's what people do when they have lost the argument before its even begun.

@fredrikaa is working at ESA not NASA, there are a lot more space agencies in the world, competing each other.

He just proved you at so many points that flat earth is a joke and you come again with the tax payer thing. Why does Elon Musk do it. He goes private in this with his own money.

I feel like the 1500s, when Galileo Galilei proved this.

Earth is flat, here is my OWN PROOF: https://steemit.com/flatearth/@lasseehlers/flat-earth-proof-1-my-first-flat-earth-proof-debunking-ball-earther-mathias-kp-who-made-the-turning-torso-ball-proof-video

Also any public or private space agency is scams, look at the SpaceX footage, completely fake!

Also Virgin Galactics is a scam that killed 4 people:

I don't know if you are serious or not, and if we are really having this conversation. It is all about physical laws we are speaking, not youtube videos. Also making that post with @fredrikaa being an Nashole, was not very ethical. If we talks science we shall come with mathematical formulas, scientific thesis and laws, not memes offending the others. It might be pointless to try, but I don't agree with the insults. It is not the place for that. And if you would have read carefully, he works ar ESA not NASA. This are two different agencies.

All space agencies are fake and he wrote NASA in his headline, so the point is the same, the earth is flad, space is fake and anyone claiming to be an astronaut is a scammer, so yes it make sense to make the meme!

Here is your proof Ballhead:

Then why we have the little space there. And on other point, you did not have to insult anyone. To make a point by insulting somebody is called frustration.

Wow. I would have said - please ignore those lunatics. But I stand corrected - great comment!

Well, I have experienced first hand that taking the time to write constructive posts can change people's mind. Whether it be flat earthers or deniers of evolution or climate change.

While it is tempting to just ignore people, I think some of these issues are too important to sweep under the rug. Part of my motivation to start blogging and communicating about science is to help educate after all. I think it is often a lacking educational system, and a media that is very poor at communicating science, that is to blame (Don't hate the player, hate the game huh?). So someone will have to pick up on their slack!

I'm thinking the same. Always keep your cool and come with constructive communication. Thumbs up for the initiative. They shall not be ignored because in the end it will have the snowball effect, like it has now. More and more come with strange ideas.

you don't need Satellites in Space to obtain such data.
high altitude drones and aerostatic balloons are sufficient.
like this one

Loading...

Hello Fredrik and welcome to Steemit :-)
What a super cool job you've got!

Hello tomino and thank you!

I absolutely love my job as well. It is great to be in a place where you look forward to going to work every morning, and learn things that you would have wanted to learn on your spare time anyways :)

I hope to get to share much, much more of what I do in coming blog posts. As well as how others can get involved in the space industry which is growing very fast at the moment.

Have given you a follow and hope to exchange more, and mutually benefit from each-other in the future!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65090.19
ETH 3379.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.55