CICADA 3301 | A Quantum Encryption Model Based On DNA - Pt2

in #science7 years ago (edited)


3301

Using DNA encryption cuts its down by half or two-thirds depending on the stand. A lossless system which encompasses all data. This would be a miracle.

 

Encryption is dead. Long live Encryption.

A new .wav file has just appeared on the Cicada 3301 website

  • 32617is667.wav

  • First I ran it through Sonic Visualizer a .wav visualization program. Which gave me this:

  • From here I could work out the password for the locked file contained within the .wav file. This is how I did it:
    The clue is asking you for the 7 numbers in Pi that are between 3001 & 3007. So I found the first 4000 decimal places of Pi. Then counted forward 3000 decimal places. The next 7 decimal places were 2305587.

  • I then did:
    2305587 x 7 = 16139109

  • 16139109 is the password for the hidden file.

  • I once again used DeepSound to unlock the hidden Cicada.pdf within the .wav file.

The 2nd Cicada.pdf

Part 1 - https://steemit.com/crypto/@fortified/cicada-3301-or-a-binary-quantum-encryption-model-based-on-dna

Sort:  

Wow.

Fuck that's insane. You mean use DNA directly as the private key-- but then-- well my DNA gets around more than my private key, a lot more-- how to remedy?

I shall try to explain in a future post. Currently I'm still trying to get to the bottom of it.

Thanks. I am hoping someone with more technical knowledge than me could decipher it.

Any ideas?

Cryptology Series Part 4: Methods of Encryption has been published!
https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@digicrypt/cryptology-series-part-4-methods-of-encryption
I am thinking part 6 will cover quantum, I may even link to this post, get some others to join in on the discussion??

Okay @fortified ....I gave it a quick look over, but would need to really dig into for awhile to give you a full opinion, it is pretty complex. I don't really have time for that now but I can share some info that you might find interesting/helpful.

Quantum Cryptography-Describes the use of quantum mechanical effects (in particular quantum communication and quantum computation) to perform cryptographic tasks or to break cryptographic systems.

Put another way by wikipedia - "Quantum cryptography is the science of exploiting quantum mechanical properties to perform cryptographic tasks. The best known example of quantum cryptography is quantum key distribution which offers an information-theoretically secure solution to the key exchange problem."

Quantum cryptography although new to the public in many ways is believed to have already been used by the US gov for quite some time. Some have actually speculated a dedicated fiber optic cable between the White House and Pentagon on which they carry out Photon transmission.

Using DNA is interesting...but more popular at the moment is Photon Polarization
where they use the polarization, either positive or negative to represent bits.

These are just some quick thoughts, I am going to try and do a post about quantum in my cryptology series. Part 4 methods of encryption will be out soon Quantum will be part 5 or 6. Hope this helped!

Thank you for your reply. My quest continues.

No prob, Are you just trying to understand the concepts or are you trying to decrypt a specific message?

Where do I start?
I have been following the Cicada on and off since 2012. When I first stated it I knew nothing about encryption, pgp, ciphers etc and yet because of Cicada I have since taught myself the basics in encryption, symbology, numerology, the list goes on . After breaking my foot at the begining of the year I didn't have much to do so I picked Cicada up properly again. As I'm good with audio and visual software I was able to actually solve some of the more tech related clues this year. You can see how I retrieved the file in the first post.

From the way we discovered the .pdf files I don't feel like it's just another piece of the puzzle. It seems to be a prize or end reward. The small community of solvers (mainly coders and crypto-currency enthusiasts) I have been with believe it is a completely new form of decentralized, quantum/binary encryption based on DNA that aims to replace(?) RSA encryption. I know enough about encryption to know that if Cicadas claim are correct this could be a game changing system.

I basically don't want to get too vocal about it until I can at least work out if its actually legit or not. I personally believe it is legit but have no evidence yet to back it up.

If you would like to know more about this years puzzle I'd be happy to fill you in as there is still one last puzzle to crack.

I saw you said you will be posting a new crypto post soon. I look forward to it. I am following you now so I'll make sure not to miss it.
Thank you.

Your comments are priceless and express how your steemit is going! Lot's of learning but you are also teaching other steemians! Keep the comments on!

is there a wikipedia entry on cicada 3301?

I's confused sir. And not in a disrespectful towards you manner, either. Just confused.

Yes it is very confusing and moves pretty fast. There has been a puzzle every year since 2012. This one has been running since 6 Jan 2017.
I'm documenting it all so will get out a full rundown of how it panned out.

Here is a wiki from the last few years and search Defango on YouTube for some of this years details.

Alright, putting it into context definitely helped. I had a little time to look over the post again. First of all, let me say that cryptology for me is a passion/ hobby and a lot what was discussed is beyond my expertise especially when it comes to quantum cryptography and quantum computing. That being said I have a few thoughts in regards to you wondering if it is "legit or not". A lot of the terminology and principles used are accurate. I am interested to know if the person who wrote this is a native English speaker or not. The section that starts "The current issues in cryptography.....hat would be a miralce" in my opinion is written poorly. Coming from a digital forensic perspective I would have used different language.

I would definitely keep researching and seeing if you can find someone who knows more about quantum computing. I took a little time last night researching and came across this document which, not identical but can be used to gain insight into this matter. You might enjoy it. http://www.iosrjournals.org/iosr-jce/papers/Vol11-issue2/I01126471.pdf?id=106
I wish you luck in figuring this out, and commend you on teaching yourself many of the fundamentals of cryptology, I hope my posts will improve your understanding even further.

Digicrypt

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59190.54
ETH 2521.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53