Friday Night Gaze #5 - Characteristics About Planet Mercury

in #science7 years ago (edited)

hi.jpg

Hi, I´m Mercury, first planet orbiting the sun.

You may know me from the sky above, even though it´s hard to catch me with the naked eye, because I´m so close to the sun. You can only see me for the period of a few days, alternating either at dusk or at dawn. Anyways, as my name might suggest, I´m NOT akin to the famous Freddy Mercury, even though I enjoy his music a lot.






In fact my titular saint is the Roman god Mercury: patron of financial gain, commerce, eloquence (and thus poetry), messages/communication, travelers, boundaries, luck, trickery and thieves; he is also the guide of souls to the underworld.
My Greek counterpart is Hermes.
 


I´m only 70 million kilometers away from the sun, which makes the temperature climb pretty high on my surface during daytime. It can get up to 420°C but in the night it can get as cold as -173,15°C.
That is F-R-E-E-Z-I-N-G cold.

Because I´m the closest planet to the sun, I´m also the fastest orbiting it.
It takes me only 88 days to orbit the sun.
My rotation period is 58d 15h 30m.
The fast orbiting and the slow rotation result in a pretty long day, the time from sunrise to sunrise is 176 days.

If you take a fleetingly look at me, you might confuse me with the Earth's Moon. But I´m not a moon,
I´m a planet
, because I´m orbiting the sun and not another planet. Talking about moons, I do not even have one. I´m all alone here getting roasted by the sun.
As you can see I´m pretty "small",
I´m only half the size of Earth.

And not only that, I´m also the least explored planet of the solar system. Reaching me from Earth poses significant technical challenges for you guys, because I orbit so much closer to the Sun than Earth does.
Only 2 space probes have visited me so far:
Mariner 10 in 1974/75
and Messenger 2008-2015
Both were NASA missions, and Messenger took much better pictures of course.
Here is a selection of them:

quattro.png
The colorful picture is a spectrum scan of my surface.

Of course we can also take a closer look at my surface.
PIA19423-Mercury-AbedinCrater-20150416.jpg


Indeed my surface is similar in appearance to that of the Earth´s Moon. There are plenty of craters, mountains, plains and ditches.


If you want to see me with your own eyes, this will be possible again in July/August 2017
(picture is true for 48th degree of latitude)
merkur-abend-20170628-20170810.jpg
source

Visit next time when we take a closer look at beautiful

V E N U S <3


L O V E



Signatur.gif

Other image sources: Messenger, surface

Sort:  

I've learnt about most of the planet but Mercury.
I don't know why but luckily I have @flurgx handy.
I can't wait to look at our sister planet Venus!

So nice of you @arckrai :-D Venus will be beautiful stick figure.. Hopefully she'll come tomorrow

Great post! follow,upvote ,resteem and comment @roba I'll do the same for you.

If you like my post, you may upvote it as a appreciation of my work. Because you commented I may even have a look at your blog. If I like what I'm seeing I may even consider following you. I'm not doing deals here. Those times are over my friend. I'm delivering quality content. People who would like to see more like this will follow me. I'm not hunting for anything. Life is flowing. I'm flowing with it. Thank you for your interest.

Seems like you are fascinated from these planets!

I'm fascinated about the diversity in space! And I'll bring it to you here on steemit! ♨

I love how you write from the perspective of the planet. Makes the information more relatable. 100% uptoke ;)

Thx man! I thought I mix things up a bit :-D

I like this a lot - so I brought randowhale here too!

Easy to digest, fun to read, and accurate - science bloggers unite!

Thanks a lot for the rando!
Science bloggers unite, what a motto! 👍

Where do you know from, how a planet thinks? Anyways, I like your article. It is written well and I like the change of perspective. Looking forward for the next part!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by flurgx from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62435.23
ETH 3369.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45