You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Stephen Hawking Is Dead And You (Probably) Don't Give A Shit

in #science7 years ago

Hm... I don't get it.

Up to the moment I haven't known of Hawkings death. Are those douchebag comments you talk about quotes from the media? Why do you care about them? ... Or did you take them as a reference to an experience you already made when someone died you personally knew and the mournings of people you also know and you sensed them to be insincere?

When Michael Jackson died I shed some silent tears. It was not about him it was that I was being reminded of my youth and times I was dancing to "beat it" and all was laying ahead of me. His death reminded me that I am mortal, too. That is my answer to your above question.

Was this a tribute to Hawkings? It seems like it was one but it felt angry.

Sort:  

One of the first things I saw when I woke up was a comment by a guy on Facebook that I know is an anti-vaxxer claiming how sad he is and how science has lost such a great man. And my feed continued to be bombarded by big words like "mourn" or whatever by people that I know for a fact that the only reason they have heard about hawkings is shows like the big bang theory, Simpsons or whatever. As I replied to the first comment I find it quite annoying to see these people who have no idea about Hawkins, his life and his work to claim they mourn. I can literally imagine them tweeting "oh Hawking's is dead me so sad" from their toilet while taking a dump.

I wouldn't call it a tribute just some quick thoughts on human hypocrisy. And the whole situation reminded me the even bigger hypocrisy we saw with the death of Michael Jackson. Everyone was calling him a pedo and a piece of shit in his last years, suddenly he dies and everyone starts talking about what a great artist and great man blah blah he was. Disgusting...

LOL. I never follow that. Facebook I quit and used it later only for selected incomes. I quit consuming any mass media whatsoever, so I sometimes appear as a fish taking a peep into the world of air breathers and then go down under water. No news, no feed, no any media besides self-selected groups or singles. "News" only people deliver to me personally I know, so the important things will get me anyway.

It's funny how people react when I tell them that I am living in oblivion. To my defense, I can say I worked in the media branch for a long time and know how news are created. Also, the daily news are the same today as they were in the 80s.

So this was my engaged attempt to convince you of not using facebook anymore. Please tell me, if I was successful. You need to feel less disgusted:)

Yeah but if I quit who is gonna take care of my online farm?

an online farm on facebook?

It's called farmville it's a really popular game on facebook. I am not actually playing it but I thought it would make a nice joke :p