Reading Open Scientific Articles - OAJ [Online Resource]

in #science7 years ago

Resource #2.png


Here's the one-line mission statement from Open Access Journals:

"This platform with a sole aim of providing the most trusted scientifically authentic information is launched to support the latest logical scientific initiatives." [source]

To be honest, I see it more as an aggregator of open journal articles than what they claim through their bold statement. They have very little social media presence from what I can see. I found them through Google Scholar a few days ago, when I was looking for something on vitamin D.

The list of open access journals they have articles on is extensive (very extensive). Here are a few categories:

  • biochemistry (about ~25 journals!)
  • chemical engineering
  • computer science
  • clinical sciences
  • nanotechnology
  • physics
  • informatics
  • mathematics
  • neuroscience and psychology
  • molecular biology
  • genetics
  • medical sciences
  • and more.

For the full list of journals, please see this page. For authors, they also accept submission and re-submission of papers, which will be published about 10 days upon acceptance; the guidelines for authors are here.

What I don't like is that there is no 'internal' (within the site) search function (or I couldn't find it). So, if you look for something specific, you'd have to use a search engine and search within the website by adding "site:openaccessjournals.com" to your query.

If you don't look for something specific and if you're a geek wanting to read peer reviewed open papers on a certain category or topic, you could just go to the journals list, pick a journal, browse through the list of recent articles, and get the pdf of the article - or read it within the browser.

Anyhow, with this post, I'm trying to bring more awareness and encourage users interested in science to read full articles, as they may get themselves more acquainted with the scientific method.


To stay in touch with me, follow @cristi


Cristi Vlad, Self-Experimenter and Author

Sort:  

very useful, tnx for sharing 👍👍

great and informative post
thanks for sharing and keep up the hard work

Upvoted & RESTEEMED :]

That's an interesting resource. I think there should be more open access scientific journals and ways for people to look at scientific papers.

there are more than enough; there are too few people to read and interpret them.

I guess it's a matter of knowing where to look then. I'm having some medical issue with a very specific cause and I wanted to dive as deep as I can into the research on the topic, but I had a very hard time finding anything.

Thank you for this link, I will definitely check it out. I always find it is better to read the paper directly and check their statistical analyses and study participants myself and try to ensure that their scientific method is valid. I also think the biggest problem with scientific research is that it is basically only papers that get a positive result that are published, and there could be many scientific papers that do not have a desirable p value which remain unpublished. This vast number of papers that are unpublished may obscure the actual findings as it is important to look at multiple papers on the same topic when gathering information. (I really hope this has made sense to everyone, as I found it rather difficult to express!)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67003.49
ETH 3502.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87