You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Gene Editing - Cre/loxp (My Research, Vol. 2)

in #science6 years ago

Well, yes, we will all die. But we’d do that without genetic engineering too, maybe even a lot faster.

Right XD
I'd love to see some lab pictures in a future post, I never had the time to research on how gene editing is actually done - I mean in practice.
This is such an interesting topic and i'm loving your series on it :-D

Sort:  

Gene editing is a bit anti-climactic and is mostly imagination and your own knowledge.

Example: Mix a drop of this colorless liquid with a drop of that colorless liquid. Put that colorless liquid into cells. Wait a week or so for the cells to divide so that you have more of them, then check if the cells got the desired genetic modifications. So it is important that you have the knowledge of what components are inside each of the previously mentioned colorless liquids and what they are doing, but otherwise it looks the same to the observer.

I know this because I do it almost every day in human pluripotent stem cells.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 55825.83
ETH 2516.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28