Introduction to Botany

in #science7 years ago (edited)

Recently someone asked me why I don't write about Botany when I Majored in Botanical Science. I was so embarrassed as because the thought of that never occured in my mind.

So today I'm going to give you guys a brief idea about Botany. This description might be a bit textbook type as I couldn't find a better way to describe Botany.

image

Introduction to Botany

What is Botany?
It is basically the science of plants. Like humans, plants go through various physical, hormonal, cytological changes and to study these changes is the main objective of Botany.

On another note studying plant classification principles and how they are related to the evolutionary process of plants is a step in the right direction in conservation of some plants.

As we humans need a certain necessary things in our life so does plants, without them they will not survive. The basic things we all know are water, CO2, and minerals but there are other major factors playing a key role in this. Plants need a suitable temperature for their growth, the amount of CO2 varies from place to place which is not good for all plants. This being the reason we see plants dying out in Major Cities.

Further Botany is also the study to know the past, present and sometimes also try to predict the future growth of plants.

For past studies we Botanists have to learn from Herbarium Sheets which are stored in thousands of not millions in various universities and even some rare pieces are owned by Collectors.

image
Herbarium Sheet

The present is studied by life like plants and for the future we Botanists try to genetically modify plants inorder to survive any harsh climatic conditions coming their way.

There is a lot to tell about Botany but I don't like long posts so I will be dividing parts of it and try to post daily one Article related to Botany.

And once again thanks to @streetstyle who poked me into this direction. Frankly speaking I enjoyed writing this post a bit.

I hope you guys like this new series of posts I am going to post.

The next post in this Botanical Series is going to be an in-depth analysis of Herbarium.

Sort:  

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @arunava. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @arunava to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

Loading...

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Arunava from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Nice lesson in Botany, thank you for posting :)

It's a different sort of science, not one you hear too much about but interesting to learn. I don't know much about botany or anything really, so it's nice to learn some things when others post about it, thanks!

Thanks a lot.its nice to see someone taking an interest in it.

Not a problem mate. Keep the posts coming.

This post has received a 1.04 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Good day!

Thanks for your contributions to Steemit! May I offer some advice without sounding condescending? As a scientist and educator myself, I'd love to hear more about how you were drawn into botany. Why do plants fascinate you? A textbook intro is great - in a textbook. I know you're capable of drawing from your own experience to lure us into a narrative.

As I teach young children (5-12 years old) there's nothing they love more than a good story. They don't want facts. They want a game or to be lead into a fictional forest where they can meet plants that talk or a smart-ass mouse who tries to trick all the animals into thinking a monster lives in the forest.

Show us the parts of a plant by offering us a 'how-to' art and craft or just tell us about the last time you wandered across a meadow and almost fell down a sink-hole..maybe you didn't. :)

One of my favourite science writers is Richard Dawkins. As an expert in his field, we rely upon people like him to disseminate important information (sometimes quite dry) in creative ways. I remember in 'The Blind Watchmaker' he created a computer program to produce biomorphs when selecting for a particular trait. It was the description of the program that allowed him a creative analogy to translate something so complex as an aspect of evolutionary biology.

My wish is to stimulate your creativity, not to insult. I'm so glad we have more people trained in science contributing to Steemit.

All the best,
Nick

Thanks for your insight in this matter. To be totally frank with you I am kind of struggling to find the Perfect Balance between a story and good material. I have various hobbies I think that is making me somewhat out of Focus. I have prepared materials for more than one topics but am unable to post those due to some issues.

I have a post where I visited a Grape Farm near where I stay it has been about 10 Days since then but I am yet to post that. If you like I can post that next day and mention you so that you can give some insight on how to make it more interesting. I am still a newbie in this and trying to create good content while having some fun.

PS : You are always welcome to give some insight on my posts. I would love Some advice.

My best advice is to keep writing and posting. Too many writers give up because they either dont believe they have an audience or that their work isnt any good.

Read, reread and edit. Regularly rereading your work will open your eyes to mistakes and sections that dont make sense.

Keep on posting :)

Take care!
Nick

Ha. Where were you when I was growing weed.. i could have used the help p

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64476.22
ETH 3153.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54