You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Anti-Gravity Experiment Results

in #science7 years ago (edited)

This is one of the best posts I've read in a long time but I must admit I'm partial to science. I'm tempted to di the same experiment using just the magnets alone and finding a rock of equal mass and duplicating your experiment. Intriguing post

Sort:  

Thank you for your kinds words.

The magnets we used were Neodymium's that were made for cabinet doors. They look like 1" diameter washers with a hole in the middle. Use a brass screw and nut to force the two magnets together and bolt them tight.

The Balls were purchased at Michael's Craft Store and are simply open cell foam spheres. I cut them in half and used non-magnetic washers in the control sphere.

The reason I used the open cell foam was for safety, durability and lack of any metallic content that could effect the results. Plus the weak power of the magnets was a concern,as I wasn't dropping them out of a airplane, etc.

I wrapped them together with colored tape and then weighed them. If one is too heavy or light, just add some tape to make them the same.

If we do this again, I would build a drop box, so the balls are released at exactly the same time to eliminate any human error, which happened to us once.

A good camera capable of slow motion is essential and I believe that if you have a safe high place to drop from, you are more likely to have an easily visible difference between the ball's respective impacts. So in theory, the higher you go, perhaps the more pronounced the visible effect to the observer.

Good Luck

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64467.84
ETH 3492.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54