You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Building Blocks of Life - Basics

in #science6 years ago

Your drawings have improved a lot and I hope you'll keep on getting better.

Now as the most important has been said, let's get involved with the less important matters.

Most people know on some level what proteins are, but usually they might be completely unaware of the amino acids. Most usually it seems that vegans and bodybuilders are focused on the amino acids and they know more than the average fellows do.

I have a colleague who has found collagen products which she is eating to keep her skin in better shape. I had tried to point out to her that as far as I know, collagen is a protein and if you eat collagen, it will not magically be absorbed from your stomach to your skin, but it will be broken down to amino acids.

The reply was though to point out that the "collagen is in a form where it IS absorbed as a whole".

Well, it wasn't completely related to this post. I hope I'm not wrong claiming that proteins do not get absorbed to the body as ready built protein but as amino acids.

Sort:  

Correct. The acid in our stomachs is pretty good at breaking protein structures apart.

That's nice to hear, finally I'm right when disagreeing with a woman.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57614.45
ETH 3097.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57