You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tawai: A Voice from the Forest. Bruce Parry's new film exploring indigenous people's ways of being

in #science7 years ago

Sometimes, a documentary that showcases the people as they really are, is all that's needed. No conclusions or opinions. I'd love to see this, though I'm not sure how as I'm in South Africa. I can only hope they'll make it available to watch online someday.

Sort:  

Yes I'm not sure what the plans are for availability.

Indeed, it's already a privilege to have some intimate insights to the world of forest peoples. However it is just so obvious that Bruce is brimming over grappling about for an elusive answer, to an elusive question that he can't quite seem to frame. You can see that he feels that's he's not quite getting something but feels that he should and that it is just out of sight. Perhaps it is simply the reflection of the conquering imperialist adventurer mind that feels the need to dominate the object of attention (perhaps :) ). I look forward to seeing where he goes with this in the future.

For the inquisitive mind, where questions lead to more questions, I can understand the feeling to know, precisely, what there is to know. Reminds me a bit of The Doctor and Steve Irwin. From what I've seen on the website, I'm sure he has several plans further down the line.

I can't help but feel that it would be really interesting for him to perhaps undertake some directed study, say for example a masters in anthropology, as it might give him the structure to finally put words to his question. Of course afterwards perhaps he might feel farther than ever from the "answer", he he.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64196.23
ETH 2757.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71