Do You Know What is Bioinformatic?

in #science6 years ago

I work with bioinformatics since 2013 when I joined the biology course at my university in Brazil. It is funny cause when people ask about my work I always answer that I am a bioinformatician and after this, there is always a question: "What this is about?"

Today I would like to dedicate a post about my profession cause probably there is a lot of people that don't know what bioinformatics is about. the first thing that I would like to let clear is that you don't need to be a biologist to work with this science, actually, bioinfo is a multidisciplinary field of molecular biology, so you can find physicians, nurses, biologist and pharmacists working with this.

One thing that is required to work on it is the knowledge of computer programming and a high background in molecular biology (that is more complex, to be honest).

Bioinformatics is a discipline that helps biology to understand high sources of data that we have in our days. With the growth of techniques like NGS, I mean WGS, we have more data than we process and here is where bioinfo makes difference, a professional uses his knowledge to decode the coming data from sequencing techniques.

You need like, mathematics, physics, biology (of course), chemistry and computer science to be excellent in this work. The result of this new field of science is changing the world and it's promising! Now we can manipulate DNA information, simulate molecules interaction and understand our nature.

bioinfo.jpeg

Sort:  

very informative

Thanks man :)

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

Do not count on it

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

Welcome to steemit @andycunha. Join #minnowsupportproject for more help. Type in the comments of a post @OriginalWorks and it will help you verify that content is original.
Transfer SBD to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Transfer SBD to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 63252.28
ETH 3044.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52