Is anyone interested in a discussion about Entheogens and the Psychedelic experience in general?

in #science7 years ago

I'd like to start with this very thought provoking lecture where "Psychology Professor Dr. Jordan B. Peterson talks about the mystical experience people tend to have after taking substances like Ayahuasca. These experiences can result in permanent personality transformations. But why?"

I understand it can be a a touchy subject, but I would like to discuss the use and misuse of the psychedelic experience, and substances such as Psilocybin mushrooms, LSD, Ayahuasca, Mescaline, etc. I ask us all to keep an open mind, but to try to keep "Woo" to a minimum.

terrence.jpg

To me being able to gain access to certain arenas of thought through these tools has been almost crucial to my development as a human being. I experienced my first psychedelic at age 16 through roughly 5 grams of psilocybin cubensis(this was far too much). I had been experiencing worsening depression for most of my adolescence and this came along right in the middle of it, being in a bad mind set and physical setting in general, these factors can cause for a general bad time. I believe that this difficult experience let me look at my life objectively and was a really big catalyst in bringing out a curiosity of the natural world in me.

My next experience was with 1 tab of LSD dosed at approximatly 150 micrograms I would estimate from further experience. This was an absolutely beautiful experience spent with 2 of my good friends, where we were able to keep flowing conversations of things we may find to hard to describe or personal at any other time. The ability to think laterally is very pronounced from LSD in my experience, and can lead to very interesting conversations.

Mankind has been using natural Entheogens for thousands if not tens of thousands of years weather it be for personal spiritual use, as a tool to aid in hunting, or just for recreation, and I feel it is a harsh infringement on human rights to make illegal these avenues of consciousness exploration. But one should be very cautious if they do decide to explore, always have someone you can trust with you, things such as music or movies you are familiar with if things go south, and to not be afraid to let the experience take you, because fighting it can make it worse.

I would love to hear other's experience or feeling towards psychedelics, and maybe get a dialogue going :)

And some Alex Grey artwork:

alex gray.jpg

Sort:  

@altered - Nice one. Upvoted! :) Thought you might be interested in this post as we are discussing similar things. https://steemit.com/life/@tarquinmaine/morphic-resonance-rupert-sheldrake-and-meeting-the-maestro-himself-at-a-psychedelic-conference-of-course

Great post; I agree that psychedelics can act as powerful catalysts for change. I love Alex Grey's work, too!

Congratulations @altered! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @altered! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Psychedelics are the first thing that helped me realize that there was some force or God that is with me at all times, before I was atheist and now I know its everywhere whatever I choose to call it, if its energy, love, light, people. Its everything. And shrooms, dat, ayahuasca showed me that personally!

Congratulations @altered! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Here are the winners
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59241.40
ETH 2525.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47