You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: LET'S PLAY - A MENTAL GAME OF TIME PERCEPTION

in #science5 years ago

It's definitely an intriguing thought experiment, and I think many thinkers have wondered similarly about our perception of time, and how it defines who we are.

But your concluding statement has me completely at a loss! You seem to be very open to possibilities that are revealed via poetic analogies, but somehow reject out of hand the idea of EVER being able to bend space! Lots of things seemed impossible to people just a few decades ago. Before the invention of the airplane, the New York Times newspaper, if I recall, predicted that the first flying machine would be invented in roughly a million to 10 million years! Lol! They may as well have said 'never'! (here, I found a link)

Also, the idea that something (which I would call impossible) like long-distance perception (do you mean ESP?) is easier to cultivate than something which science does not rule out, is also hard to fathom! Indeed, I have often said that if extra-sensory abilities existed, all animals would have evolved ways to use them. Why waste calories moving, when you can just telekinetically bring a deer to your mouth? Why develop language when you can just communicate telepathically? Nature is like Scrooge: it is absolutely ruthless when it comes to expenditure. If there was an 'easier' way to do things, she would've figured it out, especially considering the claims of people that they already possess these powers, which would mean that Nature has already hit upon this cheap invention, but is still stubbornly refusing to use it. (It's possible of course I have misunderstood your last point.)

Sort:  

Hey Alex,
nice you swing by.

You seem to be very open to possibilities that are revealed via poetic analogies, but somehow reject out of hand the idea of EVER being able to bend space!

Wrong. I don't reject the idea, in fact I was a little sad to give it up for myself at the moment, because I actually wanted to write before that I as a Startrek fan find the warp drive a fascinating thing.

And that I put myself into this warp fantasy. But then - because I also don't reject the possibility that nothing seems impossible - I read from serious scientists of the space institutes and physicists that warp is theoretically possible, but that you would need so much anti-matter (of which you don't even know yet, what this anti-matter is supposed to be) or a similar kind of unspeakable matter, and even if you could manage to summon the enormous amounts of energy, you would end up sizzling the spacecraft crew, as the spacecraft would be pushed to the end of its own bubble and pulverized by the strong radiation. Exactly, as by the way, the destination, which one would flare off immediately with.

I found the current state of research so sad that I gave up and thought about the tragic end of crew and destination: Hm ... the warp drive probably won't become anything, since bending spacetime has such considerable disadvantages for man and destination that I said goodbye to this possibility from my lifetime and then thought: Where else are the possibilities of one's own influence?

Besides, I thought about good old Bucky and agree with him that we probably have the most beautiful spaceship of all and the idea that we are racing through space with our earth has reconciled me. To be honest, I don't like flying at all and therefore the warp thing was very inviting, because you stand still and let the space fly around you.

No, no, I mean the ordinary remote perception of the intentions of living beings. Something different than reading "thoughts", because in truth thoughts are far too fleeting to be read. It's more about an impression you get from the other the minute you think about him or her or resonate with him or her. One thus bends the space-time mentally, only completely without burning anybody. LOL.

I once wrote about intuition, which one can train, so that it can become well developed. Otherwise intuition is about as precise as if you were an inexperienced shooter. With a lot of luck you hit your target, but in most cases it's a matter of chance. In my article from that time I wrote that intuition is something quite normal for the guys from the military as well as in espionage and detective work and you develop a sense for it if you are "shadowing" someone, because it is generally known that the person being watched notices this when, for example, you stare at him directly from behind and turn around because something attracts his attention. And so on.

All this also has to do with mental training, that I don't find it paranormal but consider it normal and that I am only too lazy to take up this "resonance training", as I call it, in my everyday life. Probably also because so few do. And because developing new habits is so much effort.

Very well-written! I do agree that pragmatically speaking, we are far from bending space! But, like you said, don't exclude anything yet. See this for example (which, as you know, is my hope for solving all the problems in the world!)

At the very beginning of this video I found a quote which takes up what you said - maybe you like to read it, I quoted it here down below in a response to @vieira:

You seem to be very open to possibilities that are revealed via poetic analogies

Yes, I follow this tendency of mine which I think Terence McKenna described as an aesthetic approach.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63822.89
ETH 3083.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99