You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Nature Identification Thread #1

in #science7 years ago (edited)

Okay, so this beetle is approximately 3/4" long. I've seen some that are a little bigger too, just shy of 1".
DSC_0549.JPG
DSC_0550.JPG
It was held captive in a plastic container for a little while until I snagged my phone to snap a couple pictures. When I lifted the container there was a bitter odor. When the bug is threatened it also sticks out a long tongue, probably a stinger. When captured and held in a tissue, it bites the tissue with its mandibles and secretes a brown fluid that has that same bitter odor.
20170928_101210.jpg
I've done a little research and had a hard time finding something that really matched, but I think I may have identified it. I'm not 100% sure though because photos online don't really match, so a second opinion (from someone that knows more about beetles) would be helpful. After someone replies with their identification, I will share what I think it is.

Sort:  

So at first I assumed it was some breed of Darkling beetle, which may often have a quite pungent scent. It could also be a Ground Beetle from the genus pterostichus. I'm leaning strongly towards the latter.

Looks just like the pterostichus family, particularly the first image result in your Google link. I imagine it's venom could cause a nasty blister? I did some reading about blister beetles and thought that might be it. Descriptions fit on behavior (playing dead, stench upon death, and the venom) but none of the examples looked anything like the beetles I have been finding.
Thanks mountain, I think you've got it pinned.

Yeah, blister beetles tend to be a lot thinner. Be glad you don't have blister beetles.

Man, there are a lot of beetles that look a lot like that. With that exaggerated peduncle, my first thought was big headed ground beetle, but it doesn't have the mandibles for that. I'm stumped, but it looks like @mountainwashere is right on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58394.86
ETH 2618.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39