You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ever wondered what pursuing a career in science is like? The perks and disadvantages of being a natural science researcher.

in #science7 years ago (edited)

Yes. The mingling and sales part of having to be outgoing is surprising to many who don't understand introverts. People at work think i'm a social butterfly but they don't realize outside of work, I rarely go out (i exhaust myself from work so I mostly just stay home). Even when I hang out with my friends, people think i'm very closed, reserved and standoff-ish but if you catch me at a conference or traveling for work, i'm one of the friendliest people you'll meet. Two sides of a coin.

My cousin is wrapping up her PhD this year I believe. This was her last article on her research below. She mentioned that human research would take lifetimes to study and that's why they use mice (their brains mature significantly faster than humans).

https://www.researchgate.net/publication/316362040_Strained_in_Planning_Your_Mouse_Background_Using_the_HPA_Stress_Axis_as_a_Biological_Readout_for_Backcrossing_Strategies

Will keep you posted!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65771.81
ETH 3174.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61