Whaleshares Platform... More Of The Same? Or Different?

in #schoolofminnows6 years ago (edited)

I have just joined the Whalehares platform and I am wondering how alike and how different it will be from the SteemIt platform.

whaleshares.jpg
Source

Official Launch

The Whaleshares platform officially launched on September 1st and they opened up the signup process for everyone. There is a catch, though: up until September 15th, you need to pay 10 Whaleshares tokens to be able to register. Unless you had some Whaleshares tokens in your Bitshares account already at the time they took the snapshot.

In that case, registration costs you only 1 Whaleshares token, and you receive a part of the sharedrop, which boosts your account significantly.

I was one of the lucky ones. During my 9 months here on SteemIt, I had won a couple of contests that rewarded winners in Whaleshares. I never used them to boost a post, so they were all just sitting there in my Bitshares account. During the sharedrop, my 90 Whaleshares tokens gave me the right to 768.172 Whalestakes (which is something like SP, I assume).

divider.jpg
Source

What Is The Whaleshares Platform All About?

I haven't really taken the tie to check out the site, but the first thing I noticed is that it uses the same interface as SteemIt. It will probably not take long to get to know your way around.

According to one of the launch posts there are some similarities, but also huge differences.

The intent of Whaleshares is to provide a Decentralized Autonomous Cooperative (DAC) platform where users of all sizes may transparently share and contribute value to their networks of trusted friends and have a voice in the future evolution of the platform itself. Furthermore, all members are encouraged to create and leverage their own Whaleshares-backed tokens with cross-chain technology to support communities of common interests with transparent oversight and rewards for taking part in initiatives and other sponsored events.

They claim to have changed

a lot of the content and rewarding functions in order to create a more balanced system that is geared towards the long-term growth and stability of the platform.

The main difference are listed on the same page:

  • SHARING IS REWARDING

Which means that if you reward/upvote a post, it is automatically shared on your own blog.

  • NO DELEGATION
  • FLAGGING COSTS 3X MORE THAN REWARDING
  • ADJUSTED POWER DOWN ALGORITHM

The power down feature will be disabled until October 12th to give the platform the time to grow.

Sounds good, so far - I guess.

divider.jpg
Source

Cross Posting

Now I have created an account, I was recommended to write an introduction post. You can't imagine how much I hate writing introduction posts - I might just be editing the one I used here on SteemIt, maybe add a little info and change a few things.

Once this introduction post has been written, I'll be fine. You see, there is no need to blog separately on SteemIt and on the Whaleshares platform.

Using the Masdacs site, you can write one post, and then submit it to SteemIt, Whaleshares, Golos and Medium... all at the same time.
It's a very useful tool, but I keep forgetting to use it, lol.

masdacs.jpgSource
Click image to enlarge

divider.jpg
Source

A New Adventure

If I have some time to spare - which won't be today - I plan to go check out the entire Whaleshares platform. And probably write that dreaded introduction post. From there, we'll see how it goes.

If you want to register your own account, you can read how to do this in this post.
If you don't have any Whaleshares tokens yet, don't worry, you can buy some at an exchange.

The entire signup process is explained in easy-to-follow steps.
And if you need more help, feel free to join the official Whaleshares Discord Channel.

I guess we'll meet each other over there some time soon!

divider.jpg
Source

signature2.gif

Graphic created with The Logo Creator Software

Subscribe Ro RSS Feed | Subscribe To Newsletter


More Posts You Might Like




Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189



divider.jpg
Source


TIP:

kryptonia (1).jpg

Kryptonia is a community that uses SuperiorCoin, for earning and spending to create simple social media tasks. Feel free to create your free account. It's an excellent platform to drive more traffic to your SteemIt posts.

SIGN UP FREE HERE



Sort:  

TItle misleading or not... that is the answer.... or is it the question?

lol - I think that was the question, haha

Thanks for the info, I am looking forward to your review of it when you write a couple of posts there.

I will, eventually. For now I've got my hands full managing 3 SteemIt accounts

I'm on a few platforms, but I like steemitbloggers the best, some really nice people on it

Do you mean SteemIt?
If so, I can only agree. I love the community here and made a lot of friends

thank you for the informative post, heard a bit of this new community, but didnt know much.. I don't know if I really have the commitment to start on yet a new platform, already struggling with the ones I am on so far! But it makes sense if you can cross post I guess... Hmm.. when you say "up until september 15th.." - what happens after then...?

After September 15th it's completely free to register.
The posting is not such a problem, since you can use the masdacs site - it's keeping up with the comments.
I can hardly keep up with all the comments here on SteemIt - I'm not sure how I'm going to handle that

ah okay, so what's the point of signing up before september 15th then...?

If I'm not mistaking, the sharedrop will end by then. So if you already have Whaleshares tokens, you'd better sign uop before the shafedrop ends

You got voted by @votefun thanks to simplymike. To support development, check out @rishi556. Hosted on the @cryptowithincin discord.

You got voted by @curationkiwi thanks to simplymike! This bot is managed by @KiwiBot and run by @rishi556, you can check both of them out there. To receive maximum rewards, you must be a member of @KiwiBot. To receive free upvotes for yourself (even if you are not a member) you can join the KiwiBot Discord linked here and use the command !upvote (post name) in #curationkiwi.

I'm looking forward to seeing how you get on with this @simplymike. I particularly like the idea of cross-posting.

I didn't understand this bit though:

Which means that if you reward/upvote a post, it is automatically shared on your own blog.

I'll be interested to see what that actually looks like once it gets going. 😁

Here on SteemIt you can upvote without resteeming. On the Whaleshzres platform that's not true. Everything you upvote appears on your wall. I'm not sure yet, but I assume that will have an influence on my upvoting behaviour.

If I ever start using the platform. I mean: the fact that you can crosspost is very useful, but I can hardly keep up with replying to comments here on SteemIt alone...

I can hardly keep up with replying to comments here on SteemIt alone...

Good point @simplymike. I'd forgotten about that. There's no way I want to make more "work" for myself. I've got too many other things on my plate at the moment.

I don't want to incease my time in front of the computer screen either.

No doubt there will be other trail blazers giving it a go. I'll be interested to see how they get on.

Maybe they have some sort of fix for that. At least, I hope so...

Good luck on the new site, I received an invite but never looked into it, and not even sure I have any whaleshares LOL

You can check if you have any in your Bitshares account.
I still haven't found the time to investigate the site further, so to be honest, I still don't know what to think of it ;0)

Congratulations @simplymike ! You received a 10% upvote from @kryptoniabot & @kryptonia for your task of 280 SUP Today.

Remember to receive votes from @kryptoniabot

Run a task on Kryptonia.*Join free here Kryptonia Account
Use the tags KRYPTONIA or SUPERIORCOIN in your Steemit post.

Delegate to the Kryptonia Upvote by clicking links: 10SP , 50SP , 100SP , 500SP , 1000SP

Due to an increased amount of tasks, we have changed up the voting power to evenly spread out the Upvote amount.

It makes me wonder, I think the ultimate network would not favor its early members, it seems to be the problem with every network, there's always this trend to favoring early members.

If you look at the amounts of STEEM, for instance, that's held by people who were there at the start or bought in early, and how its holding back adoption today, it is an interesting aspect that nobody seems to care to solve yet.

Nice post btw, thanks @simplymike :)

So they should be punished? Just because they started digging for gold before anyone else found the mine... sounds a little unfair.

I do agree actually. But I assume it's on a 'first come, first served' basis.
I won those whaleshares months ago. The original use for them was that if you had enough of them you could trade them with a whale and then get a whale-vote on your post.
I don't think the idea of a separate platform existed already at that time...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63466.72
ETH 2683.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80